Faculty Awards

Distinguished Teaching Award

The Michigan Tech Distinguished Teaching Award is presented annually, since 1982, in two categories: Associate Professor, or Professor and Lecturer, Professor of Practice, or Assistant Professor.

2021: Briana Bettin, Computer Science and Cognitive and Learning Services (Assistant Professor/Lecturer/Professor of Practice) Read a blog post.
2013: Nilufer Onder, Computer Science (Associate Professor or Professor)

Academy of Teaching Excellence

The Michigan Tech Academy of Teaching Excellence was established in 1998 to recognize those who have demonstrated continued dedication to and support of the University's teaching mission. Academy membership is comprised of finalists for the annual Distinguished Teaching Awards and the Fredrick D. Williams Instructional Innovation Award.

2016: Ali Ebnenasir, Computer Science
Nilufer Onder, Computer Science
Soner Onder, Computer Science
Brian VanVoorst, Computer Science

Deans' Teaching Showcase

Each week of the spring semester, college deans identify outstanding instructors within their units for recognition in the Deans' Teaching Showcase. The thirteen nominees are announced one per week through the spring term. All thirteen are invited to an end-of-term luncheon at which they'll receive formal recognition and a small token of appreciation from the Center for Teaching and Learning. Beginning in 2017, Deans' Teaching Showcase winners are considered for additional university-wide awards in targeted areas.

2022: Brianna Bettin, Computer Science (Read a blog post.)
Leo Ureel, Computer Science (Read a blog post.)
Ruihong Zhang, Computer Science
Scott Kuhl, Computer Science

CTL Instructional Award

2020-21: Leo Ureel, Computer Science (Read a blog post.)