Distinguished Teaching Award

The Michigan Tech Distinguished Teaching Award is presented annually. Since 1982, an Award has been given in two categories:

  • Associate Professor or Professor
  • Assistant Teaching Professor, Associate Teaching Professor, Teaching Professor, Professor of Practice, or Assistant Professor

Current Award Recipients:

Charles Wallace

Charles Wallace
Computer Science
Associate Professor/Professor Category
Michigan Tech News Release

J.W. Hammond

J.W. Hammond
Assistant Teaching Professor/Associate Teaching Professor/Teaching Professor/Professor of Practice/Assistant Professor Category
Michigan Tech News Release


Distinguished Teaching Academy
Year Associate Professor, Professor Teaching Professor, Professor of Practice, Assistant Professor
2024 Charles Wallace- Computer Science J.W. Hammond, Humanities
2023 Amy Marcarelli- Biological Sciences Kyle Griffin- Chemical Engineering
2022 Molly Cavaleri- Forest Resources and Environmental Science Briana Bettin- Computer Science
2020 Melissa Baird- Social Sciences Mike Hyslop- Forest Resources & Environmental Sciences
2019 Thomas Werner- Biological Sciences Andrew Barnard- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
2018 Richelle Winkler- Social Sciences Brigitte Morin- Biological Sciences
2017 Scott Miers- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Elizabeth Reed- Mathematical Sciences
2016 Chang Kyoung (CK) Choi- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Karyn Fay- Biological Sciences
2015 William Kennedy- Cognitive and Learning Sciences Tarun Dam- Chemistry
2014 Theresa (Tess) Ahlborn- Civil and Environmental Engineering Scott Miers- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
2013 Nilufer Onder- Computer Science Thomas Werner- Biological Sciences
2012 Will Cantrell- Physics Roger Woods- Business and Economics
2011 Brian Barkdoll- Civil and Environmental Engineering Michael Meyer- Physics
2010 Blair Orr- Forest Resources and Environmental Science Charles Margraves- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
2009 Dean Johnson- Business and Economics Sean Clancey- Chemical Engineering
2008 Randall Freisinger- Humanities Robert Mark- Business and Economics
2007 Bryan Suits- Physics Guy Hembroff-School of Technology
2006 John Sandell- Chemical Engineering Heidi Bostic- Humanities
2005 Charles W. Nelson- Humanities Brian T. Davis- Electrical & Computer Engineering
2004 Terry S. Reynolds- Social Sciences Ann Humes- School of Technology
2003 Mary Ann Beckwith- Fine Arts Joel C. Tuoriniemi- School of Business and Economics
2002 William J. Sproule- Civil and Environmental Engineering David J. Flaspohler- Forestry and Wood Products
2001 Michael J. Irish- Fine Arts Gordon G. Parker- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Anne F. Wysocki- Humanities
2000 Martin F. Jurgensen- Forestry and Wood Products Dean L. Johnson- Business and Economics
1999 Ashok K. Ambardar- Electrical Engineering David A. Olson- Mathematical Sciences
1998 Madhukar Vable- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Donna Michalek- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
1997 Fredrick Williams- Chemistry Dennis Lewandowski- Mathematical Sciences
1996 Robert Stebler- School of Technology Mary Ann Beckwith- Fine Arts
1995 Jimmy Diehl- Geological Engineering and Sciences Allan Struthers- Mathematical Sciences
1994 Donald Daavettila- Physics

Janice Glime- Biological Sciences
Ghatu Subhash- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
1993 Peck Cho- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Jeffrey Bell-Hanson- Fine Arts
1992 Warren Weingarten- School of Technology John Sutherland- Mechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
1991 Edmund Vandette- Social Sciences Peck Cho- Mechanical Engineering / Engineering Mechanics
1990 Mark Plichta- Metallurgical and Materials Engineering Panayiotis Charalambides- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
1989 C. Edwin Haltenhoff- Civil and Environmental Engineering Charles Van Karsen- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
1988 Sidney Graham- Mathematical Sciences Steven Loughrin-Sacco- Humanities
1987 Robert Weidman- Physics Michael Ohadi- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
1986 Billie Wahlstrom- Humanities William Bulleit- Civil Engineering
1985 Paul Lewis- Electrical Engineering George Meese- Humanities
1984 William Predebon- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics William Gregg- Geological Engineering
1983 Duane Abata- Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Ashok Ambardar- Electrical Engineering
1982 Ralph Horvath- Electrical Engineering Cheryl DePuydt- Physical Education
Grace Swartz - Chemistry

From 1952-1981, only one Distinguished Teaching Award was given each year.

Distinguished Teaching Awards 1952-1981
Year Award Winner
1981 Anton Pintar - Chemical Engineering
1980 Gene Hesterberg - Forestry
1979 Bertwell Whitten - Biological Sciences
1978 Helmuth Steinhilb - Forestry
1977 Harold Evensen - Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
1976 Jack Holland - Biological Sciences
1975 Vernon Johnson - Forestry
1974 Howard Anderson - Mathematics
1973 Frederic Erbish - Biological Sciences
1972 Carmen DelliQuadri - Business and Engineering Administration
1971 Myron Berry - Chemistry
1970 Kiril Spiroff - Geology and Mineralogy
1969 M. D. Laitinen - Metallurgical Engineering
1968 D. O. Wyble - Physics
1967 Gene Ortner - Mathematics
1966 George Young - Civil Engineering
1965 Clyde Work - Engineering Mechanics
1964 Edgar Wiedenhoefer - Civil Engineering
1963 C. Ernest Kemp - Geology (Sault Ste. Marie Branch)
1962 Janis Inveiss - Mechanical Engineering
1961 Arthur Weaver - Engineering Mechanics
1960 Thomas Vichich - Mathematics
1959 Gilbert Boyd - Metallurgical Engineering
1958 Raymond Chelberg - Chemistry (Sault Ste. Marie Branch)
1957 Walter Anderson - Electrical Engineering
1956 David Chimino - Physics Walter Koepp - Institute of Wood Research
1955 U. John Noblet - Forestry
1954 B. Franz Schubert - Music
1953 Edwin Niemi - Mechanical Engineering
1952 William Longacre - Physics