College of Sciences and Arts

Department Chairs

Our department chairs form the College Council whose charge is to plan and manage the affairs of the College.

Biological Sciences

Rupali Datta

  • Acting Biological Sciences Department Chair (Spr 2020)
  • Professor, Biological Sciences
rupdatta@mtu.edu
906-487-1783
Dow 530

Chandrashekhar Joshi

  • Department Chair and Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Affiliated Professor, CFRES
cpjoshi@mtu.edu
906-487-2738
Dow 741

Chemistry

John Jaszczak

  • Interim Department Chair, Chemistry and Professor, Physics
  • Affiliated Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, and Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Adjunct Curator, A. E. Seaman Mineral Museum
jaszczak@mtu.edu
906-487-2255
Chem Sci 607E

Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Susan Amato-Henderson

  • Department Chair, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Associate Professor of Psychology, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
slamato@mtu.edu
906-487-2536
Meese Center 107

Humanities

Patty Sotirin

  • Interim Department Chair, Humanities
  • Professor of Communication, Humanities
pjsotiri@mtu.edu
906-487-3264
301B Walker

Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology

Megan Frost

  • Chair, Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology
  • Affiliated Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • Affiliated Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
mcfrost@mtu.edu
906-487-3350
231 SDC

Mathematical Sciences

Mark Gockenbach

  • Department Chair, Mathematical Sciences
  • Professor, Mathematical Sciences
msgocken@mtu.edu
906-487-2068
Fisher 302

Physics

Jacek Borysow

  • Acting Physics Department Chair (Spr 2020)
  • Professor, Physics
jborysow@mtu.edu
906-370-5715
Fisher 103

Ravindra Pandey

  • Department Chair, Physics
  • Professor, Physics
  • Fellow of American Physical Society
pandey@mtu.edu
906-487-2086
Fisher 108

Social Sciences

Hugh Gorman

  • Department Chair, Social Sciences
  • Professor of Environmental History and Policy, Social Sciences
hsgorman@mtu.edu
906-487-2116
Academic Office Building 215

Visual and Performing Arts

Jared Anderson

  • Department Chair, Visual and Performing Arts
  • Associate Professor, Visual and Performing Arts
jaredand@mtu.edu
906-487-2143
Walker 209C

Air Force ROTC

Lieutenant Colonel John O'Kane

  • Commander
  • Professor, Aerospace Studies
rotcinfo@mtu.edu
906-487-2652
AFROTC/DET 400, ROTC Building 103

Army ROTC

LTC Christian Thompson

  • Chair, Army Reserve Officer Training Corps
  • Professor of Military Science
cathomp1@mtu.edu
906-487-2650
Army ROTC