College of Sciences and Arts

Department Chairs

Our department chairs form the College Council whose charge is to plan and manage the affairs of the College.

Biological Sciences 

Chandrashekhar Joshi

  • Department Chair and Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Affiliated Professor, CFRES
cpjoshi@mtu.edu
906-487-2738
Dow 741

Chemistry

Sarah Green

  • Interim Department Chair, Chemistry
  • Professor, Chemistry
sgreen@mtu.edu
906-487-2048
Chemical Sciences 607

Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Kelly Steelman

  • Interim Department Chair, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Associate Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Affiliated Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
steelman@mtu.edu
906-487-2792
Meese Center 102

Humanities

Scott Marratto

  • Interim Department Chair, Humanities
  • Associate Professor of Philosophy, Humanities
smarratt@mtu.edu
906-487-2613
301B Walker

Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology

Megan Frost

  • Associate Professor and Chair, Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology
  • Affiliated Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • Affiliated Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
mcfrost@mtu.edu
906-487-3350
231 SDC

Mathematical Sciences

Jiguang Sun

  • Professor, Mathematical Sciences
jiguangs@mtu.edu
906-487-3172
Fisher 313

Physics 

Ravindra Pandey

  • Department Chair, Physics
  • Professor, Physics
  • Fellow of American Physical Society
pandey@mtu.edu
906-487-2086
Fisher 108

Social Sciences

Hugh Gorman

  • Department Chair, Social Sciences
  • Professor of Environmental History and Policy, Social Sciences
hsgorman@mtu.edu
906-487-2116
Academic Office Building 215

Visual and Performing Arts

Jared Anderson

  • Department Chair, Visual and Performing Arts
  • Associate Professor, Visual and Performing Arts
jaredand@mtu.edu
906-487-2143
Walker 209C

Air Force ROTC

Lieutenant Colonel Joseph Pulliam

  • Detachment Commander
  • Professor of Aerospace Studies
rotcinfo@mtu.edu
906-487-2652
AFROTC/DET 400, ROTC Building 4

Army ROTC

LTC Christian Thompson

  • Chair, Army Reserve Officer Training Corps
  • Professor of Military Science
cathomp1@mtu.edu
906-487-2650
Army ROTC