Alumni Awards

The greatest measure of any school is the quality of the graduates it sends into the world. Clearly, by that and by many other measures, Michigan Tech is one of the best. Since the establishment of the first award in 1969, a very important role for our Alumni Board of Directors is recognizing our extraordinary students and alumni.  

You can help us identify outstanding alumni and friends for the Alumni Awards program all year long. Call 906-487-2400 or write to us at and keep an eye out for 2023 award nominations to formally open later this year.


2022 Award Recipients

Outstanding Young Alumni
Distinguished in their careers before the age of 35; achieved a position or some distinction noteworthy for one so recently graduated
Past Recipients

Jacob Heck '10

Honorary Alumni
Strongest non-alumni supporters of Michigan Tech; provided service and support of the University characteristic of dedicated alumni
Past Recipients

Martin Jurgensen

Outstanding Service
Significant contributions to the success of the Board of Directors and/or the University. 
Past Recipients

Cynthia Hodges '87 '90

Distinguished Alumni
Outstanding contributions in both their careers and to Michigan Tech
Past Recipients

Chang Park '73

Volunteer leadership or service that has improved or enriched the lives of others and the welfare of humanity, and whose accomplishments reflect admirably on or bring honor to their Alma Mater
Past Recipients


Outstanding Future Alumni
Student volunteers who support the Alumni mission of “Celebrating Traditions. Creating Connections."
Past Recipients