Michigan Tech News


John Johnson

Johnson to Chair National Academies Committee on 21st Century Truck Partnership

May 6, 2014
By Marcia Goodrich

Effort addesses engine systems, hybrid propulsion systems, safety and more

[ read more ]
PhD candidate Durga Pokharel, left, and his advisor, chemist Shiyue Fang, working out solutions to challenges in their research on purifying DNA and peptide molecules. Sarah Bird photo

Fang, Pokharel Receive Rath Award for Breakthrough Method of Purifying Biomolecules

April 28, 2014
By Marcia Goodrich

Honored for "exceptional research . . . that anticipates the future needs of the nation while supporting advances in emerging technology."

[ read more ]
Kathleen Halvorsen,

Kathleen Halvorsen Wins Research Award

April 17, 2014
By Marcia Goodrich

Honored as “a major force in joining social science with natural science and engineering disciplines.”

[ read more ]
Isle Royale wolves face harsh winters and suffer from inbreeding.

Michigan Tech Wolf-Moose Study Named to Michigan Environmental Hall of Fame

April 8, 2014
By Jennifer Donovan

Michigan Tech's Isle Royale wolf-moose study is being inducted into the Michigan Environmental Hall of Fame

[ read more ]

Bob Johnson Garners NCTE National Book Award

February 13, 2014
By Dennis Walikainen

Humanities Professor Bob Johnson's book, Romancing the Atom, has won the 2014 NCTE Best Book in Technical or Scientific Communication Award.

[ read more ]
Jay Meldrum

Jay Meldrum Named to SAE Board

January 27, 2014
By Marcia Goodrich

The board oversees a global organization with a membership of more than 138,000 engineers and other technical professionals. 

[ read more ]
Sean Kirkpatrick, chair of biomedical engineering & AIMBE Fellow

Sean Kirkpatrick Named American Institute of Medical & Biomedical Engineers Fellow

January 23, 2014
By Jennifer Donovan

Sean Kirkpatrick, chair of biomedical engineering, has been named to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Medical and Biomedical Engineering.

[ read more ]
Coedited by Michigan Tech's Nancy Auer,

Nancy Auer's Sturgeon Book Among Michigan's Most Notable for 2014

January 8, 2014
By Marcia Goodrich

Twenty made the list, which honors great books focusing on Michigan.

[ read more ]
MC Friedrich

MC Friedrich Wins Kennedy Center Medallion

December 12, 2013
By Danny Messinger

MC Friedrich, associate professor of theatre in the Department of Visual and Performing Arts, is named winner of the prestigious Kennedy Center Medallion.

[ read more ]
Adrienne Minerick

Adrienne Minerick Named AAAS Fellow

December 2, 2013
By Marcia Goodrich

Honored for development of successful "lab on a chip" technologies and professional leadership

[ read more ]