Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Sense of Belonging Positive Action Team

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Sense of Belonging (DEIS) Positive Action Team (PAT) is composed of Michigan Tech staff, faculty, and administrators charged with implementing a range of fast-start DEIS initiatives.

For the 2022-23 academic year, PAT will focus on implementing Michigan Tech Policy 1.13, Preferred First Name and Personal Pronouns. Four task groups are working on the project, Technology, Policies and Procedures, Training, and Communication. PAT expects that the rollout will occur in spring 2023, and further information will be forthcoming when available.


Wayne Gersie

  • Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Research Assistant Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Pronouns: he, him, his

Team Members

Team members are strategically positioned to bring about positive change across the University and to set the groundwork for progress in the future.

Michael Blanco, Director of Diversity and Inclusion Operations

Gabriel Jesus Escobedo, Director of the Center for Diversity and Inclusion

Emmett Golde, Director of Enterprise Application Services

Sonia Goltz, Professor of Organizational Behavior, College of Business

Theresa Jacques, Registrar

Michelle Jarvie-Eggart, Assistant Professor, Engineering Fundamentals

Beth Lunde-Stockero, Executive Director, Equal Opportunity Compliance and Title IX

Alexandra Marshall, Associate Director of Residence Education

Stefanie Sidortsova, Executive Director for Communications, University Marketing and Communications

Kelly Steelman, Department Chair and Associate Professor, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Shari Stockero, Assistant Provost for Faculty Development

Radheshyam Tewari, Associate Teaching Professor, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Jeff Toorongian, Director - William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning

Previous Semester Summaries