Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Sense of Belonging Positive Action Team

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Sense of Belonging (DEIS) Positive Action Team (PAT) is composed of Michigan Tech staff, faculty, and administrators charged with implementing a range of fast-start DEIS initiatives.

For fall 2023 semester, PAT will focus on the implementation and launch of Michigan Tech Policy 1.13, Preferred First Name and Personal Pronouns

Personal Pronoun Identification Option Now Available

Faculty, staff and students at Michigan Tech have the opportunity to choose how to identify themselves within the campus community through our new pronoun selection system. Everyone at Michigan Tech now has the option to choose how to identify at MTU by adding or updating an existing preferred first name or selecting pronouns to be used across University records and communications systems, where feasible. 

Michigan Tech is committed to fostering a safe, welcoming environment for all members of the campus community. For additional information or support, please email vpdi@mtu.edu.


Michael Blanco

  • Senior Director of Diversity and Inclusion Operations

Team Members

Team members are strategically positioned to bring about positive change across the University and to set the groundwork for progress in the future.

Paige Short, Associate Director of Operations, Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Emmett Golde, Director, Enterprise Application Services

Sonia Goltz, Professor of Organizational Behavior, College of Business

Theresa Jacques, Registrar

Michelle Jarvie-Eggart, Assistant Professor, Engineering Fundamentals

Beth Lunde-Stockero, Executive Director, Equal Opportunity Compliance and Title IX

Alexandra Marshall, Director of Residence Education, Residence Education and Housing Services

Kelly Steelman, Department Chair and Associate Professor, Psychology and Human Factors

Shari Stockero, Assistant Provost for Faculty Development

Radheshyam Tewari, Associate Teaching Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Jeff Toorongian, Director, William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning

Previous Semester Summaries