Undergraduate Student Awards

Department Scholar

The award was established by the Provost. It recognizes a student who will have senior status next year and who represents the best of student scholarship in the department, especially in the areas of intellectual curiosity and creativity.

Charles Knobloch Award

The scholarship was established in 1986 by Charles Knobloch, a 1980 Michigan Tech graduate with a BS in engineering. This award honors students for outstanding performance in upper level mathematics, especially, but not exclusively in modern algebra and real analysis.

Joyce M. Burchenal Scholarship

The Scholarship was established in 1980 by Joyce M. DeRosiers Burchenal, a 1950 Michigan Tech Graduate with a BS in General Science, specializing in Mathematics. She continued her education earning a BS in education from the University of Detroit, and a Master’s degree from Michigan in Mathematics.

Norman E. Scholz Award

The award was established in 1978 by Eric and Mary Scholz in memory of their son, who received his bachelor’s degree in Math in 1958 from Michigan Tech. This award recognizes a senior who has distinguished himself/herself in mathematics.

Woman of Promise

To recognize and encourage women to pursue studies and success in the mathematical sciences. This well rounded student promises great achievement and demonstrates success in leadership, extra curricular activities, and mathematics.

Mathematics Achievement Award

The award recognizes students who demonstrated high levels of achievement and / or creativity in mathematics courses, projects, or activities.