Cooperative Education (Co-op)

All completed paperwork must be submitted at least two weeks prior to start date!

Summer Track B Co-ops must start between Jun 20-Jul 5, 2022 and end Aug 11-26, 2022

Fall Co-ops must start between Aug 22-Sep 6, 2022 and end Dec 9-23, 2022

Spring Co-ops must start between Jan 2-17, 2023 and end Apr 21-May 5, 2023

Co-ops can be easy to fit into your time here at Michigan Tech, but please speak with your advisors. They will help you fit them into your course/degree schedule.

While on co-op, your work assignments are intended to be related to your major, but are varied to provide a range of experience and training. Employers must provide co-op students with challenging paid work. 

You’ll also be enrolled in a Canvas course requiring online discussions, written assignments, evaluations, and a final report. These courses are offered fall, spring, and summer semesters for undergraduate and graduate students.

Once you receive an offer letter for a co-op, apply for co-op credits through Career Services. Application materials and the steps to register can be found here.

Co-op Requirements

Undergraduate Students

  • Minimum GPA 2.0
  • Must be in good academic and conduct standing
  • Must receive permission from their academic advisor
  • Must have completed at least one semester at Michigan Tech

Graduate Students

  • Minimum GPA 3.0
  • Must be in good academic and conduct standing
  • Must have completed at least one semester at Michigan Tech
  • Must receive permission from their academic advisor

International Students - additional United States governmental
requirements apply

  • Must have completed two full time semesters in residence at Michigan Tech
  • Have not completed degree requirements prior to co-op semesters
  • Must obtain a Social Security number from the Secretary of State Office
  • Must have work authorization (CPT)

Start and End Dates

Start Dates

One week prior to the start of the semester through Monday, Week 2 of classes (Fall, Spring, Full Summer semesters)

End Dates

No earlier than the last day of regular classes for the semester in which you are working. Graduating international students, please contact Career Services for more details on end dates (per governmental regulation you may not work past the last day of class).

Semester Start Dates End Dates
Full Summer 2022

Monday, May 2 -
Monday, May 23

Friday, August 5 -
Friday, August 26

Summer Track A 2022

Monday, May 2 -
Monday, May 16

Friday, June 24 -
Friday, July 8

Summer Track B 2022

Monday, June 20 -
Tuesday, July 5

Friday, August 11 - 
Friday, August 26

Fall 2022

Monday, August 22 - 
Tuesday, September 6

Friday, December 9 -
Friday, December 23

Spring 2023

Monday, January 2 -
Tuesday, January 17

Friday, April 21 - 
Friday, May 5

The job search and application process for co-ops and internships is similar to other jobs. Companies use the job title to indicate whether they are searching for full-time, co-op, or internship positions. Handshake will also make this clear in the job posting. Submit all of the documents—including current résumé—for the job posting.