Continuous Improvement

Campus Facilitators

Michigan Tech has embedded Lean Facilitators on campus. These employees have been through many hours of training in Lean tools and facilitation skills and have volunteered to commit time, in addition to their regular work, to help other areas on campus practice continuous improvement. They are available to teach various topics to departments, facilitate kaizen events, coach you through a Lean project, and practice and share the Lean skills they have learned. If you or your department would like to receive help from one of these individuals, please contact the Office of Continuous Improvement at or 906-487-3180, or fill out our improvement request form.

Bldg 1 Administration

  • Debra Charlesworth, PhD—Graduate School
  • Jessica Comfort—Student & Advancement Info Systems
  • Kevin Kainulainen—Student & Advancement Info Systems
  • Andrew Miles—Financial Aid

Bldg 3 Lakeshore Center

  • Andi Barajas—Shared Services
  • Theresa Coleman-Kaiser—Administration
  • Megan Goke—Human Resources
  • Lori Hardyniec—Human Resources
  • Joan Hoffman—Financial Services and Operations
  • Patty Kyllonen—Human Resources
  • Tammy LaBissoniere—Sponsored Programs
  • Gina LeMay—Vice President for Research
  • Joel Liimatainen—Financial Information Systems
  • Christopher Maxson—Environmental Health and Safety
  • Colin Neese—Shared Services
  • Margo O'Brien—Financial Services and Operations
  • Renee Ozanich—Human Resources
  • Byron Quinn—Shared Services
  • Brenda Randell—Administration
  • Richelle Schwaller—Vice President for Research
  • Madeline Mercado Voelker—Human Resources

Bldg 7 Electrical Energy Resources

  • Matt Bryan—Information Technology
  • Brian Hutzler—Information Technology
  • Karen Maki—Information Technology
  • Heidi Reid - Information Technology



Bldg 11 Walker - Arts and Humanities

  • Tanya Maki—Visual and Performing Arts

Bldg 12 Minerals and Materials Engr

  • Kristi Juntunen—Pavlis Honors College

Bldg 13 Hamar House

  • Briana Tucker—CDI

Bldg 14 Grover C. Dillman Hall

  • Chad Arney—Provost

Bldg 17 J R Van Pelt & Opie Library

  • Annelise Doll—Van Pelt and Opie Library
  • Linnea McGowan Hobmeier—Van Pelt and Opie Library
  • Georgeann Larson—Van Pelt and Opie Library
  • Pattie Luokkanen—Van Pelt and Opie Library
  • Laurie Stark—Van Pelt and Opie Library
  • Lauren Movlai—Van Pelt and Opie Library

Bldg 19 Chemical Sciences and Engr

  • Paul Charlesworth, PhD—Chemistry

Bldg 34 Memorial Union

  • Laura Harry—Memorial Union
  • Robert Hiltunen—Auxiliary Services
  • Daryl Matthews—Dining Services

Bldg 37 Wadsworth Hall

  • Ruth Archer, PhD—Office of Continuous Improvement
  • Ryan Bennett—Housing and Residential Life
  • Ernest Beutler—Dining Services
  • Kathy Wardynski—Dining Services

Bldg 905 Huntington National Bank

  • Lorraine Young—Advancement

Alphabetical Listing, by Last Name

Ruth Archer, PhD 
Office of Continuous Improvement
Gina LeMay
Sponsored Operations

Chad Arney


Joel Liimatainen

Human Resources

Andi Barajas

Shared Services
Pattie Luokkanen
Van Pelt and Opie Library

Ryan Bennet

Housing and Residential Life

Karen Maki

Information Technology

Ernest Beutler
Dining Services
Tanya Maki
Human Resources

Matt Bryan

Information Technology

Daryl Matthews

Dining Services

Debra Charlesworth, PhD
Graduate School
Christopher Maxson
Environmental Health and Safety
Paul Charlesworth, PhD

Linnea McGowan Hobmeier

Van Pelt and Opie Library

Theresa Coleman-Kaiser
Madeline Mercado-Voelker
Human Resources

Jessica Comfort

Student & Advancement Info Systems

Andrew Miles

Financial Aid

Annelise Doll
Van Pelt and Opie Library
Lauren Movlai
Van Pelt and Opie Library
Megan Goke
Vice President for Administration

Colin Neese

Shared Services

Lori Hardyniec
Human Resources

Margo O'Brian

Financial Services and Operations

Laura Harry
Auxiliary Services

Renee Ozanich
Human Resources

Robert Hiltunen
Auxiliary Services

Byron Quinn

Shared Services

Joan Hoffman

Financial services & Operations

Brenda Randell

Brian Hutzler
Information Technology

Heidi Reid

Information Technology

Kristi Juntun

Pavlis Honors College

Richelle Schwaller
Sponsored Operations

Kevin Kainulainen

Student and Advancement Info Systems

Laurie Stark
Van Pelt and Opie Library
Patty Kyllonen

Human Resources

Briana Tucker


Tammy LaBissoniere

Sponsored Programs

Kathy Wardynski
Dining Services

Georgeann Larson
Van Pelt and Opie Library

Lorraine Young


Helpful links for Lean Facilitators: