IT Operations

What we do

Operations is the largest group in Information Technology, which tasks include:

  • Storage system design, implementation and support
  • Data-centers, virtual server clusters, license servers, terminal servers, software packaging and distribution
  • Faculty, staff and computer lab workstation computer provisioning/maintenance
  • Lecture capture and remote meeting technology
  • Classroom technology
  • Residence hall wired/wireless network support
  • Campus printing support and computer lab maintenance

We support all three of the campus' major operating systems (Windows, Linux and MacOS) in a broad array of systems.

Operations accomplishes these tasks with only 20 staff and over 50 student employees. Our staff and students come from all backgrounds, majors and specialties.


Pat Hopp

Pat Hopp

  • Director of IT Operations
906-487-3192
phopp@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Nancy Banfield

Nancy Banfield

  • IT Operations Manager
906-487-2893
nlb@mtu.edu
B07 EERC
Amber Davis

Amber Groustra

  • IT Operations Manager
906-487-4500
amberd@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Cody Adkins

Cody Adkins

  • System Administrator
906-487-1402
cladkins@mtu.edu
B08 EERC
Vince Alvarado

Vince Alvarado

  • Technical Support Specialist
906-487-3368
vjalvara@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Eric Boersma

Eric Boersma

  • System Administrator
906-487-2748
eboersma@mtu.edu
B22 EERC
Greg Booth

Greg Booth

  • Senior System Administrator and Technical Team Lead
906-487-1797
greg@mtu.edu
B15 EERC
Dan Brinks

Dan Brinks

  • Senior System Administrator and Technical Team Lead
906-487-3191
dlbrinks@mtu.edu
B12 EERC
Don Close

Don Close

  • System Administrator
906-487-1724
don@mtu.edu
B20A EERC
Shane Crist

Shane Crist

  • Senior System Administrator
906-487-1122
shane@mtu.edu
B09 EERC
JoAnn Dombrowski

JoAnn Dombrowski

  • Telecommunications Technician II
906-487-1755
jfcoplan@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
James Frey

James Frey

  • System Administrator
906-487-3508
jwfrey@mtu.edu
B16 EERC
Angie Hebert

Angie Hebert

  • IT Support Coordinator
906-487-1985
aahebert@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Henry King

Henry King

  • System Administrator
906-487-1435
hdking@mtu.edu
B11 EERC
Pat Krogel

Pat Krogel

  • Senior Application Systems Analyst
906-487-1486
pekrogel@mtu.edu
B19 EERC
Connor Meade

Connor Meade

  • System Administrator
906-487-3584
crmeade@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Joshua Myles

Joshua Myles

  • Senior Application Systems Analyst
906-487-3661
jamyles@mtu.edu
B14 EERC
Rob Narhi

Rob Narhi

  • Senior Windows System Administrator
906-487-2504
rpnarhi@mtu.edu
B17 EERC
Gavril Panov

Gavril Panov

  • Personal Computer Specialist
906-487-2611
gkpanov@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Michael Ross

Michael Ross

  • Data Center Technician
906-487-2415
mtross@mtu.edu
B20A EERC
Tim Ryan

Tim Ryan

  • System Administrator
906-487-2930
tmryan@mtu.edu
B18 EERC
Reilly Schreiber

Reilly Schreiber

  • System Administrator
906-487-0058
reschrei@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Charlie Temple

Charlie Temple

  • IT Support Technician
crtemple@mtu.edu
B01 EERC
Bryce Tuttle

Bryce Tuttle

  • System Administrator
906-487-1104
bhtuttle@mtu.edu
B06 EERC
Brian Zarn

Brian Zarn

  • System Administrator
906-487-3074
bjzarn@mtu.edu
B21 EERC