Faculty and Staff Directory

Dieter Wolfgang Adolphs

Associate Professor of German Language and Literature, Humanities

(906) 487-3231
dadolph@mtu.edu
Walker 308

Leyre Alegre-Figuero

Lecturer

Advisor, Spanish Modern Language Program

487-1204
lalegref@mtu.edu
Walker 334

Carlos Amador

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Culture Studies

487-3257
cmamador@mtu.edu
Walker 322

Sara Amani

Assistant Director, Intensive English as a Second Language

Lecturer, Intensive English as a Second Language

samani@mtu.edu
Walker 315
Kirsti Arko

Kirsti Arko

Administrative Coordinator of the MTMC

(906) 487-4365
karko@mtu.edu
Walker 107C

Maria Bergstrom

Undergraduate Academic Advisor, Humanities

Instructor, Humanities

906-487-0984
mjbergst@mtu.edu
Walker 316

Links of Interest

Victoria L. Bergvall

Associate Professor of Linguistics, Humanities

(906) 487-3243
vbergval@mtu.edu
Walker 327

Links of Interest

Lauren Marshall Bowen

Assistant Professor of Composition, Humanities

Director, First-Year Composition

(906) 487-0929
bowen@mtu.edu
Walker 345

Links of Interest

Michael Bowler

Associate Professor of Philosophy

(906) 487-2447
mjbowler@mtu.edu
Walker 307

Ann Brady

Director of Scientific & Technical Communication, Humanities

Associate Professor of Scientific and Technical Communication, Humanities

(906) 487-2066
mabrady@mtu.edu
Walker 329A

Links of Interest

Teaching Interests

  • Science Writing
  • Technical Communication
  • Documentation and Usability
  • Technology Studies
  • Feminist Studies of Science and Technology

Research Areas

  • Rhetorical Theory
  • Technology Studies
  • Feminist Theory
  • Philosophy of Technology
  • Interdisciplinary Theory

Kathleen Burke

Lecturer, Intensive English as a Second Language, Humanities

(906) 487-1771
kpburke@mtu.edu
Walker 313

Stephanie Carpenter

Lecturer, Creative Writing and Literature, Humanities

(906) 487-0987
stcarpe@mtu.edu
Walker 342

Sue Collins

Assistant Professor of Communication, Culture, & Media, Humanities

(906) 487-3260
scollins@mtu.edu
Walker 305

Links of Interest

Janice E. Cox-Adolphs

Instructor, Humanities

(906) 487-3231
jecoxado@mtu.edu
Walker 335
Jacqueline Ellenich

Jacqueline Ellenich

Department Coordinator

(906) 487-2008
jmelleni@mtu.edu
301 Walker

Andrew Fiss

Assistant Professor of Technical & Professional Communication

afiss@mtu.edu
Walker 341
Humanities Faculty

Laura Kasson Fiss

Instructor, English

lkfiss@mtu.edu
Walker 333

Ramon A. Fonkoué

Assistant Professor of French and Cultural Studies, Humanities

(906) 487-2592
rafonkou@mtu.edu
Walker 323

Shelly Galliah

Instructor

487-0970
sagallia@mtu.edu
332 Walker

Frann Grossman

Instructor, Intensive English as a Second Language

487-3237
fgrossma@mtu.edu
314 Walker
Stefka Hristova
"The true picture of the past whizzes by. Only as a picture, which flashes its final farewell in the moment of its recognizability, is the past to be held fast."
—Walter Benjamin “On the Concept of History”

Stefka Hristova

Assistant Professor of Digital Media, Humanities

(906) 487-1084
shristov@mtu.edu
Walker 344

Specialties

  • Visual Studies
  • Digital Media Studies
  • Eastern European Visual Studies
  • Postcolonial Studies
  • Critical Theory

Evelyn Vidal Johnson

Senior Lecturer, Humanities

Coordinator of English Secondary Education

(906) 487-2982
evjohnso@mtu.edu
Walker 339

Robert R. Johnson

Professor of Rhetoric, Composition, and Technical Communication, Humanities

(906) 487-3236
rrjohnso@mtu.edu
Walker 303

Links of Interest

Specialties/Activities

  • Writing historical nonfiction and cultural histories
  • Developing technical communication theory
  • Teaching usability theory and methods
  • Rhetorical criticism
  • Technical writing

Karla Saari Kitalong

Professor, Humanities

Director of Composition & Michigan Tech Multiliteracies Center

(906) 487-3254
kitalong@mtu.edu
Walker 103

Links of Interest

Anita Levy

Instructor, Spanish

487-1013
alevy@mtu.edu
Walker 332
Scott Marratto
"Philosophy is nature in us, the others in us, and we in them."
—Maurice Merleau-Ponty

Scott Marratto

Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Humanities

Research Areas

  • 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy (especially Phenomenology)
  • Ancient Philosophy
  • Ethics
  • Political Philosophy
  • Philosophy of Mind
  • Philosophy of Science and Technology

Sylvia Matthews

Director of General Sciences and Arts

Director of IGTAAP (International GTA Assistance Program)

Humanities Scheduling Coordinator

(906) 487-3058
samatthe@mtu.edu
Walker 102

Ayse Nur Miskioglu

Instructor, Intensive English as a Second Language

(906) 487-3230
anmiskio@mtu.edu
Walker 313

Alexandra Morrison

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Humanities

(906) 487-2612
lamorris@mtu.edu
Walker 340

Abraham Romney

Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition

Director, Michigan Tech Multiliteracies Center

(906)487-1063
aromney@mtu.edu
Walker 101

Karin B. Schlenker

Lecturer in German Languages, Humanities

(906) 487-3242
kbschlen@mtu.edu
Walker 336
M. Bartley Seigel
"If you would not be forgotten as soon as you are dead, either write something worth reading or do things worth writing."
—B. Franklin

M. Bartley Seigel

Associate Professor of Creative Writing and Diverse Literatures, Humanities

Director of English and Liberal Arts

Founding Editor of PANK Magazine

Specialties

  • Contemporary, emerging, and experimental literatures
  • Creative Nonfiction
  • Creative writing
  • Literary magazines
  • Literary publishing
  • Poetry
  • Short Fiction
  • Small press
Marika Seigel
"We do not use technologies so much as we live them. One begins to think differently of users when one notices that tools include persons as functioning parts."
—Langdon Winner

Marika Seigel

Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Technical Communication, Humanities

(906) 487-3093
maseigel@mtu.edu
Walker 320

Diane L. Shoos

Associate Professor of Visual Studies and French Language, Humanities

(906) 487-3247
dshoos@mtu.edu
Walker 328

Jennifer Daryl Slack

Professor of Communication and Cultural Studies, Humanities

(906) 487-3228
jdslack@mtu.edu
Walker 304

Links of Interest

Research Areas

  • Cultural Studies Theory and Practice
  • Technology and Culture
  • Environment and Culture
  • Creativity and Culture
  • Communication Theory

Beatrice Quarshie Smith

Director, Intensive English as a Second Language

Professor of Literacy Studies, Humanities

(906) 487-3229
bbsmith@mtu.edu
Walker 310

Specialties

  • Literacy Studies
  • English as a Second Language
Erin Smith
"Also, you'll find a pair of safety glasses and some earplugs under your seats. Please feel free to use them."
—Max Fischer, Rushmore

Erin Smith

Director, Humanities Digital Media Zone

Principal Lecturer in Digital Media and Cinema, Humanities

Faculty Advisor, Cin/Optic Communication and Media Enterprise

(906) 487-3263
ersmith@mtu.edu
Walker 138

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Digital Media Production and Theory
  • Documentary
  • Film Production, Theory and Criticism
  • Academic Technology Administration
  • Literature and Creative Writing

Patty Sotirin

Professor of Communication, Humanities

Director of Graduate Studies, Humanities

(906) 487-3264
pjsotiri@mtu.edu
Walker 319B

Links of Interest

Anne Stander

Instructor, Intensive English as a Second Language Program

acstande@mtu.edu
Walker 314

Ronald Strickland

Department Chair, Humanities

Professor of Literature, Humanities

(906) 487-2376
rlstrick@mtu.edu
Walker 301B

Kette Thomas

Associate Professor of Diverse Literature, Humanities

(906) 487-3251
kthomas@mtu.edu
Walker 309

Dana Van Kooy

Assistant Professor, English in Transnational Literature, Literary Theory and Culture

drvankoo@mtu.edu
Walker 343

Marcelino Viera-Ramos

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Culture Studies

487-1223
mvierara@mtu.edu
Walker 321

Audrey Viguier

Lecturer, French Modern Language Program

asviguie@mtu.edu
Walker 337

Craig Waddell

Associate Professor of Rhetoric, Humanities

(906) 487-3261
cwaddell@mtu.edu
Walker 302

Clare Zuraw

Instructor, Intensive English as a Second Language

487-0921
cjzuraw@mtu.edu
314 Walker