Graduate Students

Masters Students

Alexis Newton

MS Student

487-0924
acnewton@mtu.edu
314 Walker

Research Interests

  • Alexis is interested in the intersection of popular and academic cultures as well as the interdisciplinary discourses surrounding these intersections. She is currently considering the way video/computer games are perceived as design rather than as fine art objects in order to address whether or not this status alters games' and gaming's ability to be considered viable modes of philosophic discourse.

Anna Paul

MS Student

487-0927
arpaul@mtu.net
329D Walker

Research Interests

  • Anna's research interests include technical communication, usability, and medical rhetoric and communication. She is particularly interested in exploring the usability of smart phone applications that women can use to track and manage fertility and reproduction.

Richard Ward

MS Student

487-0925
richardw@mtu.edu
131 Walker

Research Interests

  • Richard’s particular interests are epistemic rhetoric, hermeneutics, and the rhetoric within historical texts. Specifically, he seeks to analyze the rhetorical strategies of documents created during major U.S. events, such as the revolutionary war, women’s suffrage, and the civil rights movement in order to understand and relay how these strategies might both inform pedagogy and inspire students in composition.
Olayemi Awotayo Portrait

Olayemi Awotayo

MS Student

487-0939
obawotay@mtu.edu
311 Walker
Marina Choy

Marina Choy

MS Student

487-0930
mchoy@mtu.edu
335 Walker
Linford Lamptey Portrait

Linford Lamptey

MS Student

487-0928
lolampte@mtu.edu
311 Walker
Emma Lozon

Emma Lozon

MS Student

487-0926
emlozon@mtu.edu
141 Walker
Megan Pietruszewski Portrait

Megan Pietruszewski

MS Student

487-1771
mlpietru@mtu.edu
314 Walker
Emily Simmons

Emily Simmons

MS Student

487-0917
emsimmon@mtu.edu
141 Walker

PhD Candidates and Students

Keshab Acharya

PhD Candidate

487-0915
krachary@mtu.edu
131 Walker

Research Interests

  • Keshab’s research interests include technical communication, usability studies, intercultural communication, rhetoric, and aging. His current project concentrates on “Older Adults as Audience in Technical Communication.” More specifically, his work focuses on the study of usability in informational documents for older adults.
No Photo

Nada Alfeir

PhD Student

nalfeir@mtu.edu
331 Walker
Gabriel Agbozo

Gabriel Edzordzi Agbozo

PhD Student

487-0935
geagbozo@mtu.edu
Walker 311

Yunana Ahmed

PhD Student

487-0974
yunanaa@mtu.edu
330 Walker

Research Interests

  • Yunana's research interests include critical discourse analysis, political discourse analysis, political communication, African rhetoric, and comparative and decolonial rhetoric. His current research focuses on presidential campaign discourse in Nigeria.

Joel Beatty

PhD Student

487-0923
jsbeatty@mtu.edu
329D Walker

Research Interests

  • Visual Studies; Rhetoric; Scientific and Technical Communication; Philosophies of Science and Technology; Writing Across Disciplines.
Joshua Chase

Joshua Chase

PhD Student

487-0948
jchase@mtu.edu
140 Walker
No Photo

William DeHerder

PhD Student

Silke Feltz

PhD Student

487-0919
shfeltz@mtu.edu
Walker 312

Research Interests

  • Silke’s current interests are exploring animal ethics and combining a knitting charity project with service learning/service teaching components. She is especially concerned with the disjuncture between our discussion of and our treatment of animals. In particular, examining the rhetoric used on animals, which often fragments them, can help shed light on the complicated nature of animal rights.

Shelly Galliah

PhD Student

487-0970
sagallia@mtu.edu
332 Walker

Research Interests

  • Shelly’s research interests include speculative fiction, satire, comedy, faux news, the philosophy of technology, popular science, and rhetoric. Of special interest are the intersections between comedy and rhetoric and the ambiguous role of comedians as public intellectuals, particularly their responsibilities when weighing in on political matters as well as on contentious scientific controversies.

Nancy Henaku

PhD Student

487-0936
nhenaku@mtu.edu
331 Walker

Research Interests

  • Nancy works primarily at the intersection of discourse analysis, rhetoric, and literary studies with an emphasis on the relations between discourse, subalternity, and power. She has completed work on style in Ama Ata Aidoo’s narratives and has investigated issues of language and power in an electoral campaign.
No Photo

Lindsay Hingst

PhD Student

487-0933
lahingst@mtu.edu
329D Walker
Aaron Hoover Portrait

Aaron Hoover

PhD Student

487-0947
adhoover@mtu.edu
140 Walker
Geethu Jose

Geethu Madeckal Jose

PhD Student

487-0941
gmjose@mtu.edu
313 Walker

Jessica Lauer

PhD Candidate

487-0938
jlauer@mtu.edu
329D Walker

Research Interests

  • Jessica's research interests include food studies, the history and philosophy of technology, and histories of education and pedagogical movements in the U.S. Her current project examines secondary teacher education in technical writing and rhetoric.

Wenjing Liu

PhD Student

487-0908
lwenjing@mtu.edu
142 Walker

Research Interests

  • Wenjing Liu's research interests include cultural studies, theories of feminism, and theoretical perspectives on everyday technologies. Her current project is about how bio-technologies, such as reproductive technologies and cosmetic technologies, shape females' understandings of their identities.

Vincent Manzie

PhD Student

487-0976
vdmanzie@mtu.edu
330 Walker

Research Interests

  • Vincent’s research interests include risk communication, corporate crisis rhetoric, organizational culture, and communication theories. His current project examines rhetoric, power, and agency in a post-colonial conflict set in Cameroon, which involved claims from indigenous, environmental, governmental, and multinational stakeholders.

Tolu Odebunmi

PhD Student

487-0929
taodebun@mtu.edu
313 Walker

Research Interests

  • Tolu has an abiding interest in how discourses are employed to assign people to particular social categories. Her other areas of interest include Gender Studies, Black Studies, and Cultural Studies. She has previously conducted research on the sociolinguistics of major Nigerian popular culture forms, including Nollywood and Naija Hip-hop.
No Photo

Sara Potter

PhD Student

Lyz Reblin

Elizabeth Reblin

PhD Student

487-3287
ereblin@mtu.edu
142 Walker

Aranya Srijongjai

PhD Student

asrijong@mtu.edu
332 Walker

Research Interests

  • Aranya’s research interests include cross-language composition, EFL writing, Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning (CSCL), and multimodal composition. In her present project, she is exploring the application of new media studies in order to restructure remedial programs for college-level English composition.

Kimberly Tweedale

PhD Student

487-0940
ktweedal@mtu.edu
312 Walker

Research Interests

  • Kimberly’s research interests include literacy, technology, and the relationship between curricular and extracurricular learning. Her current focus considers how digital literacies are rhetorically constructed, sponsored, and valued in different contexts.
No Photo

Hua Wang

PhD Student

487-0949
huaw@mtu.edu
313 Walker