University Senate Professional Staff Units

Per Senate Proposal 8-20: "Restructuring of Professional Staff in the University Senate", below is a breakdown of the current professional staff units represented on the University Senate. Next to the name of each unit is name of the current Senator representing that unit. If there is no current representative, the word "VACANT" is written. If you are a member of a unit with a vacant Senator seat and are interested in serving on the Senate or have any questions about serving on the Senate, please contact the Senate Assistant.


  1. Academic Services A: VACANT

    • Biological Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Center for Teaching and Learning; Chemical Engineering; Chemistry; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics; Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs; Registrar's Office
  2. Academic Services B: Senator Lindsey Wells

    • Civil, Environmental, and Geospatial Engineering; College of Engineering; Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences; Materials Science and Engineering; Michigan Tech Transportation Institute; Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering Technology
  3. Academic Services C: Senator Nicole Seigneurie

    • Cognitive and Learning Sciences; College of Sciences and Arts; College of Computing; Computer Science; Graduate School; Humanities; Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology; Mathematical Sciences; Physics; School of Business and Economics; School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science; Social Sciences; Visual and Performing Arts;  Applied Computing
  4. Administration A: Senator Paige Short

    • Associate Vice President for Administration; Budget and Planning; Center for Diversity and Inclusion; Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President for Administration; Financial Services and Operations; Human Resources; Institutional Research; Internal Audit; Vice President for Finance; Office of Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
  5. Administration B: Senator Quincy Higgins

    • Continuous Improvement; Environmental Health & Safety; Facilities Management; Merchandising Operations; Public Safety & Police Services; Transportation Services
  6. Advancement and Alumni Engagement: Senator Michael Olson

    • Alumni Engagement; Annual Giving; Advancement; Advancement Research; Donor Relations; Foundation Relations; Gift Planning; Industry Engagement
  7. Auxiliaries and Athletics: Senator Patrice Cobin

    • A.E. Seaman Mineral Museum; Athletics; Business Support Center; General Recreation; Memorial Union; Mont Ripley; Portage Lake Golf Course; Residential Dining; Rozsa Center
  8. Information Technology: Senator Steve Knudstrup

    • Information Technology
  9. Research 1: VACANT

    • Innovation and Industry Engagement; Keweenaw Research Center; Michigan Tech Research Institute; Sponsored Programs Office; Vice President for Research
  10. Research 2: VACANT

    • Innovation and Industry Engagement; Keweenaw Research Center; Michigan Tech Research Institute; Sponsored Programs Office; Vice President for Research
  11. Student Affairs: Jessica Stormoen

    • Academic and Community Conduct; Career Services; Counseling Services; Dean of Students Office; Institutional Equity and Inclusion; Residence Education and Housing Services; Student Leadership and Involvement; Student Affairs Information Services; Waino Wahtera Center for Student Success; International Programs and Services
  12. University Relations and Enrollment: VACANT

    • Admissions; Center for Pre-College Outreach; Financial Aid Administration; University Marketing and Communications; University Relations & Enrollment