Faculty and Staff Directory

Anirban Bandyopadhyay

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

Donald R. Beck

Professor, Physics

906-487-2019
donald@mtu.edu
Fisher 113

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Theoretical Atomic Physics
  • Theoretical Molecular Physics

Katrina Black

Instructor, Physics

keblack@mtu.edu
Fisher 121

Nick Black

Instructor, Physics

nablack@mtu.edu
Fisher 120

Jacek Borysow

Professor, Physics

906-370-5715
jborysow@mtu.edu
Fisher 103

Specialties

  • Nonlinear Raman Spectroscopy

Will H. Cantrell

Associate Professor, Physics

Director, Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)

906-487-2356
cantrell@mtu.edu
Fisher 112

Specialties

  • Atmospheric Science

Kelken Chang

Postdoctoral Associate, Physics

kchang@mtu.edu
Fisher 202

David Ciochetto

Research Engineer, Physics

231-412-0693
dscioche@mtu.edu
Fisher Hall 236, GLRC 218, DOW 105, DOW 205

Teaching Statement

  • I am interested in teaching students and faculty about topics aligned with my interests to advance the state of the science.

Specialties

  • Applied Fluid Physics
  • Measurements of Turbulence
  • Oceanography
  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Laboratory Experiments and Oceanographic Field Work
  • High Frequency Sound Interaction with Plankton
  • Gas Chromatography and TRACER studies
  • Matlab Coding
  • Data Analysis
  • Database Web Design and more

Ramy El-Ganainy

Assistant Professor, Physics

ganainy@mtu.edu
Fisher 116

Specialties

  • Nonlinear effects in optical nano-wires
  • Optical solitons in soft-matter
  • Parity-time symmetry in optics
  • QED effects inside photonic structures

Brian E. Fick

Professor, Physics

906-487-3212
fick@mtu.edu
DOW 302

Specialties

  • Experimental Astro-Particle Physics

Ulrich Hansmann

Adjunct Professor, Physics

405-325-2386
uhansmann@ou.edu

Specialties

  • Protein folding problem
  • Simulation of complex systems
  • Global optimization techniques
No Photo

Haiying He

Instructor, Physics

Assistant Research Scientist, Physics

906-487-2086
hhe@mtu.edu
Fisher 110

Siegfried Hoefinger

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

Petra H. Huentemeyer

Associate Professor, Physics

Specialties

  • Gamma-Ray Emission
  • High-Energy Cosmic Rays

Chiumun Michelle Hui

Post Doc Research Fellow, Physics

906-487-2124
cmhui@mtu.edu
DOW 305

Amir A. Jalali

Adjunct Associate Professor, Physics

Cell: 231-486-1107
ajalalir@mtu.edu

John A. Jaszczak

Professor, Physics
Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education (College of Sciences and Arts)

Adjunct Curator, A.E. Seaman Mineral Museum

Research Interests

  • Theoretical condensed matter physics
  • Theory and modeling of single-electron transport devices
  • Modeling and simulation of properties of interfaces and interface materials
  • Atomistic computational physics of surface phases and surface dynamics
  • Crystal growth
  • Mineralogy of natural graphite
Taana Kalliainen

Taana Kalliainen

Secretary

906-487-2087
taana@mtu.edu
Fisher 118

Anil Kandalam

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

Sashi P. Karna

Adjunct Professor, Physics

906-487-2086
skarna@mtu.edu

Specialties

  • Physical Chemistry

Alex B. Kostinski

Professor, Physics

906-487-2580
kostinsk@mtu.edu
Fisher 104

Specialties

  • Atmospheric Physics

Ashok Kumar

Instructor, Physics

906-231-4564
fashokku@mtu.edu
Fisher 227A

Teaching Interests

  • Solid State Physics

Research Interests

  • Low-dimensional systems including Layered Transition-metal Dichalcogenides, Graphene, Silecene, Semiconductor Surfaces, Noble-metal nanowires
  • Electronic, Optical and Transport Properties of these systems.
Andrea S. Lappi

Andrea S. Lappi

Department Coordinator

906-487-1179
alappi@mtu.edu
Fisher 107

Miguel Levy

Professor, Physics and Materials Science and Engineering

Research Interests

  • Photonics
  • Nonreciprocal Phenomena

Jiang Lu

Research Scientist, Physics

jiangl@mtu.edu
Fisher 203

Claudio Mazzoleni

Associate Professor, Physics

906-487-1226
cmazzoleni@mtu.edu
Fisher 109

Specialties

  • Atmospheric Science
  • Aerosol properties (optical, physical and morphological) and effects on clouds and climate
  • Instrument development and environmental optics

Michael R. Meyer

Director, Center for Teaching and Learning

Senior Lecturer, Physics

906-487-1708
mrmeyer@mtu.edu
JVRP Library 219

Massimo Moraldi

Adjunct Professor, Physics

Peter D. Moran

Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

906-487-3095
pdmoran@mtu.edu
M & M Building 409

Teaching Interests

  • Electronic and Photonic Materials
  • Diffraction (Physics and Applications)
  • Experimental Design

Research Interests

  • Heteroepitaxial growth on compliant substrates
  • Fabrication, characterization, and properties of nanoscale layered structures
  • Integration of dissimilar materials through wafer bonding
  • The relationship between structural, optical, and electronic properties of heterostructures
  • Quantitative x-ray diffraction analysis
  • Materials Science curriculum development at all educational levels
  • The relationship between information and atoms

Robert J. Nemiroff

Professor, Physics

Research Interests

  • Gamma-ray bursts
  • Gravitational lensing
  • Smartphones as science sensors
  • Cosmology
  • Gravitation

David F. Nitz

Professor, Physics

906-487-2274
dfnitz@mtu.edu
DOW 303

Specialties

  • Experimental Particle Astrophysics
Jesse J. Nordeng

Jesse J. Nordeng

Master Machinist

906-487-2234
jjnorden@mtu.edu
Fisher B018

Ravindra Pandey

Professor, Physics

Department Chair, Physics

906-487-2086
pandey@mtu.edu
Fisher 108

Specialties

  • Modeling of Materials

Ranjit Pati

Professor, Physics

906-487-3193
patir@mtu.edu
Fisher 218

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Modeling Molecular Electronics Devices

Warren F. Perger

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Areas of Interest

  • Theoretical atomic physics
  • Electrophysics

Bruce Rafert

Adjunct Professor, Physics

Scott A. Rutterbush

Scott A. Rutterbush

Lab Associate

Cell: 906-281-9270
sarutter@mtu.edu
Fisher 022A

Max Seel

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

906-487-2440
seel@mtu.edu
Administration Building 503

Elena Semouchkina

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Adjunct Professor, Physics

906-487-2869
esemouch@mtu.edu
EERC 711

Areas of Interest

  • Computational electromagnetic analysis
  • Computer-aided design of microwave and photonic devices
  • Electromagnetic metamaterials and their applications
  • Materials integration for device prototyping
  • Materials and device characterization at microwaves

Raymond A. Shaw

Professor, Physics

Director, Atmospheric Sciences Ph.D. Program

Research Interests

  • Atmospheric Physics
  • Digital Holography
  • Nucleation
  • Turbulence
Wil Slough

Wil Slough

Lab Coordinator

Instructor

906-487-2273
wjslough@mtu.edu
Fisher 221

Jae Yong Suh

Assistant Professor, Physics

906-487-2272
jsuh@mtu.edu
Fisher 110

Links of Interest

Research Interests

  • Light-matter interactions and quantum optics on nanoscale platforms (i.e. nanostructures)
  • Coherent and nonlinear processes in metal or semiconductor nanocavities
  • Time-resolved laser spectroscopy and nanofabrications

Bryan H. Suits

Professor, Physics

906-487-2093
suits@mtu.edu
Fisher 105

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Condensed Matter Experiment (Nuclear Magnetic Resonance)
  • NMR and NQR Engineering (Materials Detection)

Robert S. Weidman

Associate Professor, Physics

906-487-2126
weidman@mtu.edu
Fisher 106

Dustin Winslow

Instructor, Physics

dwinslow@mtu.edu
Fisher 124B

Specialties

  • Physical and electronic properties of nano-scale materials
  • Use and viability of nano-scale materials in modern applications
  • Properties of and applications for ZnO nanowires

Yoke Khin Yap

Professor, Physics

Director, Engineering Physics Ph.D. Program

Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

906-487-2900
ykyap@mtu.edu
Fisher 219

Links of Interest

Research Interests

  • Controlled synthesis of nanomaterials (Nanotubes, Nanowires, Nanosheets, Graphene, Quantum Dots, etc..), and wide band gap single crystals [h-BN, GaN, AlN, CsLiB6O10 (CLBO), etc.].
  • Exploration of new functional nanomaterials, nano-hybrids, and nano-systems.
  • Creative use of nanomaterials and nano-systems in advanced electronics, energy harvesting devices, and chemical and biological applications.
Diana M. Young

Diana M. Young

Secretary

906-487-2086
dyoung@mtu.edu
Fisher 118

Dongyan Zhang

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

906-487-2086
dozhang@mtu.edu

Specialties

  • Molecular Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Bio-nanotechnology