Faculty and Staff Directory

Kenneth A Augustyn

Adjunct Professor, Physics

Cell: 1-734-478-7445
kaaugust@mtu.edu

Areas of Expertise

  • Neuroscience
  • Imaging Radar
  • Singal Processing
  • Target Recognition
  • Quantum Sensors

Research Interests

  • Biological Mentality
  • Physics of Living Organisms

Anirban Bandyopadhyay

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

Donald R. Beck

Professor, Physics

906-487-2019
donald@mtu.edu
Fisher 113

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Theoretical Atomic Physics
  • Theoretical Molecular Physics
Mary Birmingham

Mary Birmingham

Office Assistant

906-487-2087
mebirmin@mtu.edu
Fisher 118

Katrina Black

Lecturer, Physics

keblack@mtu.edu
Fisher 121

Jacek Borysow

Professor, Physics

906-370-5715
jborysow@mtu.edu
Fisher 103

Specialties

  • Nonlinear Raman Spectroscopy

Will H. Cantrell

Professor, Physics

Director, Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences Institute (EPSSI)

Director, Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)

Specialties

  • Atmospheric Science

David Ciochetto

Research Engineer, Physics

231-412-0693
dscioche@mtu.edu
Fisher Hall 236, GLRC 218, DOW 105, DOW 205

Teaching Statement

  • I am interested in teaching students and faculty about topics aligned with my interests to advance the state of the science.

Specialties

  • Applied Fluid Physics
  • Measurements of Turbulence
  • Oceanography
  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Laboratory Experiments and Oceanographic Field Work
  • High Frequency Sound Interaction with Plankton
  • Gas Chromatography and TRACER studies
  • Matlab Coding
  • Data Analysis
  • Database Web Design and more

Ramy El-Ganainy

Assistant Professor, Physics

ganainy@mtu.edu
Fisher 116

Specialties

  • Nonlinear effects in optical nano-wires
  • Optical solitons in soft-matter
  • Parity-time symmetry in optics
  • QED effects inside photonic structures

Brian E. Fick

Professor, Physics

906-487-3212
fick@mtu.edu
DOW 302

Specialties

  • Experimental Astro-Particle Physics

Ulrich Hansmann

Adjunct Professor, Physics

405-325-2386
uhansmann@ou.edu

Specialties

  • Protein folding problem
  • Simulation of complex systems
  • Global optimization techniques

Haiying He

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

219-464-6138
haiying.he@valpo.edu

Specialties

  • Electronic structure calculations
  • Low dimensional materials
  • Heterogeneous catalysis
  • Molecular electronics

Siegfried Hoefinger

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

Petra H. Huentemeyer

Associate Professor, Physics

Specialties

  • Gamma-Ray Emission
  • High-Energy Cosmic Rays

Amir A. Jalali

Adjunct Associate Professor, Physics

Cell: 231-486-1107
ajalalir@mtu.edu

John A. Jaszczak

Professor, Physics

Affiliated Professor: Materials Science and Engineering, and Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Adjunct Curator, A.E. Seaman Mineral Museum

906-487-2255
jaszczak@mtu.edu
Fisher 102

Teaching Interests

  • Nanotechnology Education

Research Interests

  • Theoretical condensed matter physics
  • Theory and modeling of single-electron transport devices
  • Modeling and simulation of properties of interfaces and interface materials
  • Atomistic computational physics of surface phases and surface dynamics
  • Crystal growth
  • Mineralogy of natural graphite

Anil Kandalam

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

Sashi P. Karna

Adjunct Professor, Physics

906-487-2086
skarna@mtu.edu

Specialties

  • Physical Chemistry

Alex B. Kostinski

Professor, Physics

906-487-2580
kostinsk@mtu.edu
Fisher 104

Specialties

  • Atmospheric Physics
Faculty Photo Fisher Hall

Andrea S. Lappi

Department Coordinator

906-487-1179
alappi@mtu.edu
Fisher 107

Miguel Levy

Professor, Physics and Materials Science and Engineering

Research Interests

  • Photonics
  • Nonreciprocal Phenomena

Jiang Lu

Research Scientist, Physics

jiangl@mtu.edu
Fisher 203

Claudio Mazzoleni

Associate Professor, Physics

906-487-1226
cmazzoleni@mtu.edu
Fisher 109

Specialties

  • Atmospheric Science
  • Aerosol properties (optical, physical and morphological) and effects on clouds and climate
  • Instrument development and environmental optics

Michael R. Meyer

Director, Center for Teaching and Learning

Senior Lecturer, Physics

906-487-1708
mrmeyer@mtu.edu
JVRP Library 219

Massimo Moraldi

Adjunct Professor, Physics

Peter D. Moran

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

906-487-3095
pdmoran@mtu.edu
M & M Building 409

Teaching Interests

  • Electronic and Photonic Materials
  • Diffraction (Physics and Applications)
  • Experimental Design

Research Interests

  • Heteroepitaxial growth on compliant substrates
  • Fabrication, characterization, and properties of nanoscale layered structures
  • Integration of dissimilar materials through wafer bonding
  • The relationship between structural, optical, and electronic properties of heterostructures
  • Quantitative x-ray diffraction analysis
  • Materials Science curriculum development at all educational levels
  • The relationship between information and atoms

Issei Nakamura

Assistant Professor, Physics

906-487-2019
inakamur@mtu.edu
Fisher 110

Areas of Expertise

  • Soft-matter theory and simulation

Research Interests

  • Self-assembly of macromolecules
  • Ion solvation in dielectric inhomogeneity
  • Dielectric response of molecules under external el
  • Electrochemistry related to energy storage
  • Computer simulations for macromolecular systems

Robert J. Nemiroff

Professor, Physics

Research Interests

  • Gamma-ray bursts
  • Gravitational lensing
  • Smartphones as science sensors
  • Cosmology
  • Gravitation

David F. Nitz

Professor, Physics

906-487-2274
dfnitz@mtu.edu
DOW 303

Specialties

  • Experimental Particle Astrophysics
Jesse J. Nordeng

Jesse J. Nordeng

Master Machinist

906-487-2234
jjnorden@mtu.edu
Fisher B018

Ravindra Pandey

Professor, Physics

Department Chair, Physics

Fellow of American Physical Society

906-487-2086
pandey@mtu.edu
Fisher 108

Specialties

  • Modeling of Materials

Ranjit Pati

Professor, Physics

906-487-3193
patir@mtu.edu
Fisher 218

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Modeling Molecular Electronics Devices

Warren F. Perger

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Areas of Interest

  • Theoretical atomic physics
  • Electrophysics

Bruce Rafert

Adjunct Professor, Physics

No Photo

Nabanita Saikia

Postdoctoral Research Associate

nsaikia@mtu.edu
Fisher Hall 120

Research Interests

  • Nanomaterials
  • Bionano-interface
  • Computational Drug Delivery
  • Density Functional Theory (DFT)
  • Atomistic Simulations

Max Seel

Professor, Physics

906-487-2086
seel@mtu.edu
Rekhi 311

Elena Semouchkina

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Affiliated Professor, Physics

906-487-2869
esemouch@mtu.edu
EERC 711

Areas of Interest

  • Computational electromagnetic analysis
  • Computer-aided design and development of microwave and photonic devices
  • Dielectric metamaterials and photonic crystals
  • Electromagnetic cloaking
  • High-contrast materials integration
  • Materials and device characterization at microwaves

Raymond A. Shaw

Professor, Physics

Director, Atmospheric Sciences Ph.D. Program

Research Interests

  • Atmospheric Physics
  • Digital Holography
  • Nucleation
  • Turbulence
Wil Slough

Wil Slough

Lab Coordinator

Instructor

906-487-2273
wjslough@mtu.edu
Fisher 221

Jae Yong Suh

Assistant Professor, Physics

906-487-2272
jsuh@mtu.edu
Fisher 110

Links of Interest

Research Interests

  • Light-matter interactions and quantum optics on nanoscale platforms (i.e. nanostructures)
  • Coherent and nonlinear processes in metal or semiconductor nanocavities
  • Time-resolved laser spectroscopy and nanofabrications

Bryan H. Suits

Professor, Physics

906-487-2093
suits@mtu.edu
Fisher 105

Links of Interest

Specialties

  • Condensed Matter Experiment (Nuclear Magnetic Resonance)
  • NMR and NQR Engineering (Materials Detection)
Faculty Photo Fisher Hall

Cindy Wadaga

Secretary

906-487-2086
cawadaga@mtu.edu
Fisher 118

Robert S. Weidman

Associate Professor, Physics

906-487-2126
weidman@mtu.edu
Fisher 106
Doug Wilken

Doug Wilken

Lab Associate

wilken@mtu.edu
Fisher 022A/124B

Yoke Khin Yap

Professor, Physics

Director, Engineering Physics Ph.D. Program

Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

906-487-2900
ykyap@mtu.edu
Fisher 219

Links of Interest

Teaching Interests

  • Solid-State Physics
  • Optics
  • Nanoscale Science and Engineering (Nanotechnology)
  • Electromagnetism

Research Interests

  • Controlled synthesis of 0D, 1D, and 2D nanomaterials (Nanotubes, Nanowires, layered Materials, Quantum Dots, etc..).
  • Exploration of new functional nanomaterials, heterojunctions, nano-hybrids, and nano-systems.
  • Creative use of nanomaterials and nano-systems in advanced electronics, quantum switching, energy harvesting, and chemical and biomedical applications.

Nazmiye Bihter Yapici

Postdoctoral Associate, Physics

nbakca@mtu.edu
Fisher 124A

Links of Interest

Proficiencies

  • Project Management
  • Product Development & Commercialization
  • Analytical Testing
  • Assay Design & Assay Development
  • Instrumentation
  • Troubleshooting
  • Lab Experience
  • GLP
  • Validation
  • Problem Solving
  • Team Leadership
  • Multi step synthesis
  • Grant & Proposal Writing

Dongyan Zhang

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Physics

906-487-2086
dozhang@mtu.edu

Specialties

  • Molecular Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Bio-nanotechnology