Graduate Student Directory

Marwa Abdalmoneam

Marwa Abdalmoneam

PhD Candidate, Physics

mhabdalm@mtu.edu
Fisher 227

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Computational atomic physics

Education

  • MS, Physics, Ain Shams University
Hugo Ayala Solares

Hugo Ayala Solares

PhD Candidate, Physics

hayalaso@mtu.edu
Fisher 012

Research Interests

  • High-energy gamma rays
  • Cosmic rays
  • Dark matter

Education

  • BS, Engineering Physics, ITESM, Monterrey, Mexico
Douglas Banyai

Douglas Banyai

PhD Candidate, Physics

drbanyai@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Electronic transport in nanomaterials via discrete tunneling events

Education

  • MS, Physics, Michigan Tech
  • BS, Physics, Michigan Tech
Janarjan Bhandari

Janarjan Bhandari

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

jbhandar@mtu.edu
Fisher 238
Shiva Bhandari

Shiva Bhandari

PhD Candidate, Physics

shivab@mtu.edu
Hamar House

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Synthesis, Characterization and Application of Nanomaterials

Education

  • BSc (2006), Tribhuvan University, Nepal
  • MSc (2010), Tribhuvan University, Nepal
Chad Brisbois

Chad Brisbois

PhD Candidate, Physics

cbrisboi@mtu.edu
Fisher 008

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Cosmology
  • Gamma Ray Bursts

Education

  • BS, Physics Research, Eastern Michigan University
Tyler Capek

Tyler Capek

PhD Candidate, Physics

tjcapek@mtu.edu
Fisher 238

Research Interests

  • Optics
  • Pulsed Laser Ablation
  • Atmospheric Science

Education

  • BS, Physics, University of Wisconsin - River Falls
  • BS, Mathematics, University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Turhan Carroll

Turhan Carroll

Graduate Student

Ashim Chakravarty

Ashim Chakravarty

Graduate Student

Advisor

Kamal Kant Chandrakar

Kamal Kant Chandrakar

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

906-370-6329
kkchandr@mtu.edu
Fisher 204

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Atmospheric Flows
  • Unsteady Flow
  • Turbulent Flow and Instability

Education

  • Master of Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • BE, Mechanical Engineering, SSCET, Bhilai
Su Kong Chong

Su Kong Chong

PhD Candidate, Physics

sukongc@mtu.edu
Hamar House

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Functional nanomaterials-fabrication, characterization and applications

Education

  • MSc, Physics, University of Malaya
  • BSc, Physics, University of Malaya
Neel Uday Desai

Neel Desai

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

ndesai@mtu.edu
Fisher 201

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Atmospheric Cloud Dynamics
  • Meteorology
  • Turbulence

Education

  • MS, Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • BS, Mechanical Engineering, Mumbai University
Niraj Dhital

Niraj Dhital

PhD Candidate, Physics

ndhital@mtu.edu
DOW 836

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Ultra high energy cosmic rays

Education

  • MS, Tribhuvan University
  • BS, Tribhuvan University
Kamal Dhungana

Kamal Dhungana

PhD Candidate, Physics

kbdhunga@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Research Interests

  • First principle study of electronic structure
  • Charge and spin transport in nano scale junction

Education

  • MS, Physics, Tribhuvan University
Ran Duan

Ran Duan

PhD Candidate, Engineering Physics

rduan@mtu.edu
Fisher 227

Research Interests

  • Electromagnetic metamaterials and their applications

Education

  • BS, Physics, Nanjing University
Michael J. Gerhardt

Michael J. Gerhardt

PhD Candidate, Physics

mjgerhar@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Education

  • BS, Physics, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Colin Gurganus

Colin Gurganus

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

MS Candidate, Physics

cwgurgan@mtu.edu
Fisher 204A

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Cloud micro-physics
  • Ice nucleation
  • Materials sciences
  • Digital holography
  • High-speed imaging

Education

  • BS, Engineering Physics, Eastern Michigan University
Boyi Hao

Boyi Hao

PhD Candidate, Engineering Physics

bhao@mtu.edu
Hamar House

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Growth, functionalization and applications of Boron Nitride based nano materials

Education

  • MEng, Material Science and Engineering, Queen Mary University of London
  • BS, Material Science, Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Binita Hona

Binita Hona

PhD Candidate, Physics

bhona@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Astrophysics

Education

  • Bachelors, Physics, Anderson University
  • Bachelors, Math, Anderson University
Meghnath Jaishi

Meghnath Jaishi

PhD Candidate, Physics

mjaishi@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Materials Physics

Education

  • MS, Tribhuvan University
  • BS, Tribhuvan University
Dolendra Karki

Dolendra Karki

PhD Candidate, Physics

dkarki@mtu.edu
MSE 425

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Computational physics and Biophysics

Education

  • MS, Physics, Tribhuvan University
  • BS, Physics, Tribhuvan University
Jie Li

Jie Li

PhD Candidate, Engineering Physics

jli10@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Magnetic materials

Education

  • BS, Northwestern Polytechnical University
Anindya Majumdar

Anindya Majumdar

PhD Candidate, Physics

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Photonics

Education

  • B.Tech in Engineering Physics, Indian Institute of Technology-Delhi
Aeshah Muqri

Aeshah Muqri

PhD Candidate, Physics

amuqri@mtu.edu
Hamar House

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Nanomaterials

Education

  • MS, Mu'tah University, Jordan
  • BS, Tabuk University, Saudi Arabia
Joseph Niehaus

Joseph Niehaus

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

jniehaus@mtu.edu
Fisher 238

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Ice nucleation

Education

  • BS, Physics and Computer Science, College of Charleston
Noopur Sharma

Noopur Sharma

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

noopurs@mtu.edu
Fisher 204

Research Interests

  • Atmospheric physics

Education

  • MS, Physics, Jiwaji University, India
  • MS, Physics, Michigan Technological University
Amanda Shaw

Amanda Shaw

MS Candidate, Physics

mashaw@mtu.edu
Fisher 236

Research Interests

  • Atmospheric physics

Education

  • BA, Physics, University of Texas at Austin
Kiley Spirito

Kiley Spirito

PhD Candidate, Physics

kjspirit@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Education

  • BS Physics and BA Math, Hope College
Mohammad Hosain Teimourpour

Mohammad Hosain Teimourpour

PhD Candidate, Physics

mteimour@mtu.edu
Fisher 016

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Integrated Photonics
  • Nanophotonics
  • Plasmonics
  • Nonlinear Optics

Education

  • MSc, Photonics, ICST, Iran
  • BS, Physics, Razi University, Kermanshah, Iran
Jyoti Thapa

Jyoti Thapa

PhD Candidate, Physics

jthapa@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Education

  • MS, Physics, Ehime University, Japan
Bishnu Tiwari

Bishnu Tiwari

PhD Candidate, Engineering Physics

bptiwari@mtu.edu
Hamar House

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Nanomaterials

Education

  • MS, Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu, Nepal
Gaoxue Wang

Gaoxue Wang

PhD Candidate, Physics

gaoxuew@mtu.edu
Fisher 227

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Modeling of materials

Education

  • MS, Condensed Matter Physics, Lanzhou University
  • BS, Applied Physics, Sichuan University
Kevin Waters

Kevin Waters

PhD Candidate, Physics

kwaters@mtu.edu
Fisher 227

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Computational Materials Physics

Education

  • BS, Physics, Indiana State University
Teresa Wilson

Teresa Wilson

PhD Candidate, Physics

tawilson@mtu.edu
Fisher 008

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Astrophysics

Education

  • BA, Mathematics, Gonzaga University
Kendra Wright

Kendra Wright

PhD Candidate, Physics

kendraw@mtu.edu
Fisher 235

Research Interests

  • Photoacoustic spectroscopy

Education

  • BS, Physics, Northern Michigan University
  • BS, Mathematics, Northern Michigan University
Fan Yang

Fan Yang

PhD Candidate, Atmospheric Sciences

fyang6@mtu.edu
Fisher 201

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Cloud physics

Education

  • MS, Atmospheric Science, Peking University
  • BS, Atmospheric Science, Peking University
Tolga Yapici

Tolga Yapici

PhD Candidate, Physics

tyapici@mtu.edu
Dow 836

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Astrophysics
  • Particle Physics

Education

  • MS, Aerospace Engineering, Middle East Technical University
  • BS, Aerospace Engineering, Middle East Technical University
  • BS, Physics, Middle East Technical University
Mingxiao Ye

Mingxiao Ye

PhD Candidate, Physics

mye1@mtu.edu
Hamar House

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Synthesis, Characterization and Application of Nanomaterials

Education

  • BS (2012), Nankai University, China
Qi Zhong

Qi Zhong

PhD Candidate, Physics

qizhong@mtu.edu
Rekhi 322

Advisor

Research Interests

  • Cosmology
  • Relativity theory

Education

  • ME, Materials Physics and Chemistry, Nanjing University
  • BS, Materials Chemistry, Nanjing University
Hao Zhou

Hao Zhou

PhD Candidate, Physics

hzhou1@mtu.edu
Fisher B012

Research Interests

  • High energy cosmic rays and gamma rays

Education

  • BS, Harbin Institute of Technology