National Transfer Scholarship

The National Transfer Scholarship rewards academically talented undergraduate transfer students who are non-Michigan US residents* and have earned 12 or more college-level credits after high school graduation.  Eligible students who have applied and been accepted for undergraduate admission to Michigan Tech are automatically considered for this award.

Award Value

Incoming transfer students are considered for awards ranging from $5,000 up to $10,000 per year based on their cumulative college GPA.

Cumulative Transfer GPA** Annual Award Value
3.0 - 3.49 $5,000
3.5 and Above $10,000

National Transfer Scholarship levels for students who first enrolled at Michigan Tech prior to fall of 2021 can be viewed here.

Renewal Criteria

Scholarship recipients must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.50 at the end of each spring semester. Students are eligible for the award for a maximum of six semesters of undergraduate study. Continuous, regular full-time undergraduate enrollment (12 credits or more) and acceptable social behavior must also be maintained.


Students eligible for the Alumni Legacy Award or Military Family Education Award are not eligible for the National Transfer Scholarship.  They may, however, be eligible for need based aid and/or private scholarship funds.  National Transfer Scholarship recipients who are subsequently classified as Michigan Residents by Michigan Tech in accordance with institutional policy will receive in-state tuition rates and be considered for our in-state Michigan Tech Transfer Scholarship. As a part of this process, the National Transfer Scholarship will be cancelled.

*Beginning with the 2023-2024 academic year, students who are residents of Canada will no longer be eligible to receive the National Transfer Scholarship.

**GPA based on a 4.0 scale.