Chapter 6

6.1-6.5 | 6.6-6.8



Effective Date: 09/01/2010

6.6 Faculty Research Fellowships

The Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Vice President for Research are authorized to grant Faculty Research Fellowships under jointly developed procedures.


  • 12/03/1976
  • 01/28/1982
  • 09/18/1992: change responsibility
  • 08/03/2000: Changed Executive Vice President and Provost title to Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  • 07/15/2010: Was previously Policy 16.7. Renumbered, added joint responsibility between Provost and the Vice President for Research and corrected Vice Presidential titles.


Effective Date: 05/02/2014

6.7 Sabbatical Leave

The granting of sabbatical leaves of absence is intended for the mutual benefit of the University and the person granted such a leave. Sabbatical leaves may be granted to faculty members in order to provide a period of creative activity for the purpose of furthering professional competence. The granting of such leave will in no case be automatic, and each request for sabbatical leave will be judged on its own merits.

  1. To be eligible for sabbatical leave, a faculty member must:
    i. Have been granted tenure at the University
    ii. Hold the rank of associate teaching professor or teaching professor, or equivalent ranks for librarians and archivists, or the rank of professor of practice at the time of application.

    In all cases, the individual applying for sabbatical must have served for at least six years as a faculty member at the University prior to taking the sabbatical.

    Eligible instructional-track faculty (ITF) must have been in continuous service as a full-time faculty member at Michigan Tech for a minimum of six years in an instructional-track promotional (any rank) position, or equivalent ranks for librarians and archivists, or the rank of professor of practice.

    Eligibility for a subsequent sabbatical leave requires a minimum of six years of service since the completion of the previous sabbatical leave.

  2. Sabbatical leaves for tenured faculty may be granted for either one or two consecutive semesters. For this purpose, spring and the following fall semester will be considered to be consecutive.

    Sabbatical leaves for eligible instructional-track faculty may be for a maximum of one semester unless an exception is granted by the president in response to a compelling situation.

    Compensation for faculty on sabbatical leave will be as follows:

    Duration of Leave Rate of Pay while on Sabbatical Leave
    <1 Semester 100% of pro-rated academic year rate
    1 Semester 100% of academic year rate
    2 Semesters 67% of academic year rate
    Faculty may not accept full-time employment during the course of their sabbatical leave, with such exceptions as the president of the University, with advice from the University Sabbatical Leave Committee, may permit. Persons receiving sabbatical leave must agree to return to their position for the following year, with such exceptions as the president of the University, with advice from the University Sabbatical Leave Committee, may permit.

Money from Outside Sources

Faculty members on sabbatical leave of absence may receive money from fellowships, grants, or other sources.

This policy shall be administered in accordance with procedures recommended by the Senate and approved by the president.


  • 02/10/1967
  • 06/07/1968: Change General Faculty to Academic Faculty
  • 12/14/1979
  • 01/28/1982
  • 11/20/1987: Deleted continuous with off quarter and annual leave requirements
  • 11/17/1995: Clarify eligibility requirements, eliminate twelve month administrative sabbatical leaves, define time limits, and eliminate disclosure of funding sources
  • 05/19/2000: Revised to reflect the change from quarters to semesters
  • 02/25/2005: Authorized the President to approve faculty accepting full-time employment during a sabbatical leave
  • 07/15/2010: Was previously Policy 6.1. Renumbered only.
  • 05/02/2014: Increased 2 semesters leave to 67% of academic year rate.
  • 04/30/2021: Revised eligibility requirements to include eligible non-tenure-track (NTT) faculty.
  • top

Effective Date: 04/28/2023

6.8 Faculty Emeritus

An honorary rank awarded to retired faculty members who have served the University with distinction.
Recommendation for emeritus status shall be made by the members of the retiree's academic unit through administrative channels to the President for presentation to the Board of Trustees.


  • 08/16/1968
  • 01/28/1982
  • 07/13/1984
  • 01/17/1986: Revised first paragraph
  • 11/17/1995: Removed years of service
  • 07/15/2010: Was previously Policy 16.8. Renumbered only.
  • 04/28/2023: Updated policy to include tenure track faculty, instructional track faculty, professors of practice, and research faculty.

                                                             Effective Date: 12/17/2021

6.9 Student Evaluation of Instruction

Summarized numerical responses and written comments provided by students will be shared with each instructor, the instructor’s direct supervisor (for GTAs/GTIs), and the academic administrator of the unit(s) offering the course taught by the instructor. Deans of colleges with departments and the provost (or their designee) will be provided with the summarized numerical responses and will be provided with access to written comments upon request.

Summaries of numerical responses and written student comments from General Education core course sections constitute a special case and will also be sent to the relevant core course coordinator and to the person charged by the provost with General Education instructional oversight.