College of Sciences and Arts

Department Chairs

Our department chairs form the College Council whose charge is to plan and manage the affairs of the College.

Biological Sciences

Chandrashekhar Joshi

  • Department Chair and Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Affiliated Professor, SFRES
906-487-2738
cpjoshi@mtu.edu
Dow 741

Chemistry

John Jaszczak

  • Interim Department Chair, Chemistry and Professor, Physics
  • Affiliated Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, and Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Adjunct Curator, A.E. Seaman Mineral Museum
906-487-2255
jaszczak@mtu.edu
Chem Sci 607E

Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Susan Amato-Henderson

  • Department Chair, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
  • Associate Professor of Psychology, Cognitive and Learning Sciences
906-487-2536
slamato@mtu.edu
Meese Center 107

Computer Science

Zhenlin Wang

  • Interim Department Chair, Computer Science
  • Professor, Computer Science
906-487-2187
zlwang@mtu.edu
Rekhi Hall 223

Humanities

Ronald Strickland

  • Department Chair, Humanities
  • Professor of Literature, Humanities
906-487-2376
rlstrick@mtu.edu
Walker 301B

Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology

Megan Frost

  • Interim Department Chair, Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology
  • Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • Affiliated Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
906-487-3350
mcfrost@mtu.edu
M & M Building 304

Mathematical Sciences

Mark Gockenbach

  • Department Chair, Mathematical Sciences
  • Professor, Mathematical Sciences
906-487-2068
msgocken@mtu.edu
Fisher 302

Physics

Ravindra Pandey

  • Department Chair, Physics
  • Professor, Physics
  • Fellow of American Physical Society
906-487-2086
pandey@mtu.edu
Fisher 108

Social Sciences

Hugh Gorman

  • Department Chair, Social Sciences
  • Professor of Environmental History and Policy, Social Sciences
906-487-2116
hsgorman@mtu.edu
Academic Office Building 215

Visual and Performing Arts

Jared Anderson

  • Department Chair, Visual and Performing Arts
  • Associate Professor, Visual and Performing Arts
906-487-2143
jaredand@mtu.edu
Walker 209C

Air Force ROTC

Lieutenant Colonel John O'Kane

  • Commander
  • Professor, Aerospace Studies
906-487-2652
rotcinfo@mtu.edu
AFROTC/DET 400, ROTC Building 103

Army ROTC

LTC Christian Thompson

  • Chair, Army Reserve Officer Training Corps
  • Professor of Military Science
906-487-2650
cathomp1@mtu.edu
Army ROTC