Academic Affairs

Unit Charters, Diversity, and Mentoring Plans


Departments and schools participate in university shared governance as defined by their charters. The charter defines the responsibilities of the department chair or school dean and the faculty. Charters were instituted in 1992 by the approved Senate Proposal 16-92 and the policy governing charters was most recently amended in 2011 by the approved Senate Policy 5-11.

College of Engineering

College of Sciences and Arts

School of Business

School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science

School of Technology

Pavlis Honors College

Diversity Plans

All academic departments have diversity plans which identify objectives and strategies for increased diversity and a more inclusive department which supports faculty, staff and student success. In 2007 the plans were revised in response to the results of the 2005 Climate Survey. In 2012 they were updated in response to an AQIP Project to increase gender diversity of faculty and students, and the preliminary results of the 2010 Climate Study. 

At Michigan Tech, we're committed to an equitable, diverse, and inclusive community

Mentoring Plans

In 2010, the provost implemented mentoring plans for untenured faculty, which remain in use today.  Beginning in 2015, Early Career Management (ECM) Committees were developed for each new tenure track faculty member. Mentoring plans as well as the ECMs are outcomes of Michigan Tech’s ADVANCE program and sustainment. These plans provide tenure-track untenured faculty with guidance, direction and assistance in developing successful professional careers. The mentoring process helps faculty understand expectations for research, teaching and service, the promotion and tenure process, and university culture. Encouragement and opportunities for constructive, nonjudgmental feedback provided by mentoring are important to faculty success. Recognizing that expectations vary by unit, each college department and school has developed a mentoring plan that serves the needs of its faculty: