Board of Directors


Currently the Board of Directors is comprised of alumni and friends of Michigan Tech. They represent a range of backgrounds, professional experiences, and locations. Included in this number are three individuals appointed by the Board of Trustees.


Two primary functions make up the Board's charge

  • Oversee the receipt, investment, and administration of private contributions to Michigan Tech
  • Advise on the selection of an external auditor and oversee financial reporting, internal controls, and risk management


The Board is managed by a group of nine Managing Directors, consisting of two standing committee chairs, three individuals appointed by the Board of Trustees, the President of the University, the President of the Michigan Tech Fund, and two at-large members.

Standing Committees include: Investment and Finance and Audit.

Officers of the Board include: Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, President of MTF staff, Secretary, Treasurer.

view full listing


  • George Butvilas—Chair
  • George Carlson—Vice Chair
  • Roberta Dessellier—Secretary

Board of Directors

  • George Butvilas—Chair
  • George Carlson—Vice Chair
  • John Drake
  • Julie Fream
  • Glenn Mroz
  • Paul Ollila
  • David Rowe
  • Terry Woychowski

Committee Chairs

  • George Butvilas—Investment
  • David Rowe—Finance and Audit