Affiliated Organizations

Collaboration with Local Organizations

National and International Organizations

Michigan Tech Social Sciences Faculty participate and oversee these national and international organizations.

Record finishing at Bullet Plastics Co., 1952. Courtesy Tennessee State Library and Archives.

Society for Industrial Archaeology


Members of the Society for Industrial Archaeology have a strong interest in preserving, interpreting, and documenting our industrial past and heritage. Steven A. Walton is the editor of the society’s publication IA, Journal of the Society of Industrial Archaeology and the Executive Secretary with oversight of the administrative office of SIA, run by Daniel Schneider. 

Solar panel looking up

Society for the History of Technology


SHOT is dedicated to the historical study of technology and its relations with politics, economics, labor, business, the environment, public policy, science, and the arts. An international society, SHOT meets annually in North America or Europe and also sponsors smaller conferences focused on specialized topics, often jointly with other scholarly societies and organizations. Terry Reynolds (emeritus) and Bruce Seely are past presidents of SHOT and Hugh Gorman has been treasurer.

Blast furnace at metallurgical plant, pouring liquid metal

The International Committee for the Conservation of the Industrial Heritage


TICCIH is a world organization for industrial heritage, promoting the preservation, conservation, investigation, documentation, research, and interpretation of our industrial heritage. Patrick E. Martin currently serves as president of this international body, affiliated with UNESCO through the International Council on Monuments and Sites.

Native Americans drumming in a circle on a drum in regalia

Indigenous People's Day Campaign


This campaign is aligned with a nationwide effort in several cities and towns throughout the country. It was launched locally by Michigan Tech's Indigenous Issues Discussion Group with the support of Michigan Tech's Center for Diversity and Inclusion and rapidly spread to include the larger Tech community, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College and many community members from Houghton and Baraga counties. IPDC is headed by Melissa Baird.

Additional Society Work by Social Sciences Faculty

Editorial Work
Scholarly Society Service
  • American Society for Environmental History (ASEH): Nancy Langston, executive committee 2002-2016; president 2007-2009
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME): Terry Reynolds (emeritus), vice-chair of History & Heritage Committee
  • Association for the Anthropology of Policy: Carol Maclennan, Co-President-elect 2017; Co-President 2019-22
  • International Association for Landscape Ecology (USIALE): Audrey Mayer, Councilor-At-Large for US chapter, 2012-2014; Program co-chair for 2018 annual conference in Chicago, IL
  • International Association for Society and Natural Resources (IASNR): Kathleen Halvorsen, executive director 2018-2020
  • International Medieval Congress (IMC), Leeds: Steven A. Walton, conference strand coordinator (science, technology medicine and military)
  • Mining History Association (MHA): Terry Reynolds (emeritus), member of Governing Council
  • Social Science History Association (SSHA): Don Lafreniere, program chair
  • Society for Conservation Biology (SCB): Kathleen Halvorsen, council member of Social Science Working Group (SCB SSWG)
  • Society for Historical Archaeology (SHA): Timothy Scarlett, board member 2015-2017.
  • Society for Industrial Archeology: Steven A. Walton, Board Member, 2016-17; Executive Secretary, 2017-21
  • Society for the History of Technology (SHOT): Bruce Seely, president, xxx; Terry Reynolds (emeritus), president xxx; Hugh S. Gorman, treasurer, xxx; Steven A. Walton, Fergusson Prize committee, 2014-17
  • The International Committee for the Conservation of the Industrial Heritage (TICCIH): Patrick Martin, President, 2009-2018.
  • Vernacular Architecture Forum (VAF): Sarah Scarlett, board member and chair of the education committee, 2013-16.