Winter 2010-2011 Michigan Tech Magazine

Class Notes

Class Notes


  • Michael Myette ’63 started MM Construction Consulting LLC in 2005. He was named executive director of Utility and Excavation Contractors of Washington in 2006.


  • Charles Hughes ’81 is associate vice president for academic effectiveness at the University of Central Oklahoma, in Edmond.
  • In April 2009, Lieutenant Commander Kim J. Pacsai ’82 retired after twenty-six years of active duty (eight in the Marine Corps, eighteen in the Coast Guard). He lives in Traverse City and currently flies for the University of Michigan’s Survival Flight helicopter EMS provider.
  • Peggy Barchi ’85 works at Fort Nisqually Living History Museum in Tacoma, Washington. She is the special events volunteer coordinator and editor of the fort’s publication Occurrences—The Journal of Northwest History During the Fur Trade. She reports that as a student she had two summer internships working as a living history interpreter at Fort Wilkins. “I never imagined back then that I’d actually get to work in a living history museum in the future.”


  • Matthew Loew ’95 has joined the part-time faculty at Milwaukee School of Engineering. He will be teaching two sections of Modeling and Numerical Methods (his favorite class as an undergraduate) and advising the Formula Hybrid team. Matthew continues to work for Infotech Enterprises as a consultant, leading projects for clients in mining equipment and defense. He lives with his family in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin.
  • J. Carson ’95 and Helen (Hamlin) Mantooth ’97 announce the birth of their fourth daughter, Elyse Lauren, on June 24, 2010.
  • Stacy Carr ’97 recently graduated from the Executive MBA program at the University of Michigan. She now works as an account manager for Root Learning Inc. in Chicago.
  • Melissa and Brad Rickert ’97 have been blessed with the addition of Andrew William Rickert. His adoption has been finalized. He was born in Detroit in October 2009.
  • Ryan and Melissa (Cheney) Boniface ’99 are the owners and operators of Visionary Technologies in Holland as of July 2010.


  • David Barker ’00 and Jocee Weatherly announce the birth of their first child, Athena Joy Barker, May 27, 2010.
  • Jody Kositzky ’01 and Daniel Schaub were married on June 26, 2010. The couple resides in Howell.
  • Adam ’04 and Beth Podleski ’04 welcomed into the world their first child, Cole Michael Podleski, on May 29, 2010.
  • Charles ’02 and Diana (Valentino) Burch ’04 announce the birth of their first child, Henry Thomas, on July 7, 2010.
  • Jessica Pontius ’08 and Jason Rickli ’09 were married on July 17, 2010, in Columbia, Maryland. The couple resides in Edmond, Oklahoma.
  • Stephanie Carbacik ’10 is pursuing a master’s in civil engineering with a concentration in transportation at the University of Washington in Seattle. She has also accepted a position as a flow operator at the Washington DOT office in Shoreline and is looking forward to meeting all the Tech alumi in the area.
  • Hans Korth ’08 and Nora Peterson ’09 were married June 19, 2010, in Beverly Hills, Michigan, and reside in Lebanon, Ohio.

Horstman Elected Fellow of the American Society for Quality

The American Society for Quality (ASQ) has awarded fellow status to Brian J. Horstman '79 "for distinguished service, dedication, and significant contribution in the advancement of quality through his leadership; for promotion of quality concepts, tools, and methodologies by setting the example; and for his commitment to the development of other quality professionals through mentorship and training."

He is a senior quality engineer in Product Development and Launch Quality Assurance for office furniture giant Steelcase Inc. He has been a member of the United States Technical Advisory Group to ISO Technical Committee 176 on Quality Management and Quality Assurance, was a member of the American National Standards Institute Committee Z-1 on Quality Assurance, served as a member of the Michigan Quality Leadership Award Board of Examiners, and has held a number of local and national positions in the American Society for Quality.

Horstman serves on quality curriculum advisory committees at Grand Rapids Community College and at Ferris State University, where he was instrumental in developing and implementing certificate and degree programs in quality engineering technology. He holds ASQ certifications as a quality auditor, quality engineer, manager of quality and operational excellence, and Six Sigma black belt.

ASQ fellows must have at least fifteen years of quality-related experience, meet minimum score requirements across six professional categories, and have been a senior member for five years or longer. Horstman was nominated by ASQ Grand Rapids—Section 1001.

In Memoriam

The Michigan Tech family extends condolences to the relatives and friends of those who have passed away recently.

  • 1935

  • Charles A. Highhill
  • 1945

  • Albert B. Robbins
  • 1946

  • Elmer R. White
  • 1947

  • Lane E. Lyberg
  • 1948

  • William E. Boggs
  • Robert V. Preston
  • 1949

  • Arthur G. Bernholdt Jr.
  • 1950

  • Donald W. Cargo
  • August J. DeRubeis
  • Roger E. Peterson
  • 1951

  • John A. Galicki
  • Robert F. Ziems
  • 1953

  • Joseph de Bastiani
  • 1954

  • Kenneth H. Hallgren
  • Jacqueline A. (Burns) Rabe
  • Gordon S. Soine
  • 1955

  • Dorothy A. (Rautio) Byrd
  • Marvin L. Johnson
  • Robert J. Tulikangas
  • 1956

  • George J. Sperry
  • 1957

  • Clifford G. Pelkola
  • Gilles J. Rivet
  • 1958

  • Jon E. Miller
  • 1959

  • Reynold G. Anschutz Jr.
  • Andrew G. Bartoes
  • Norman J. Reiley
  • Theodore Schuurmans Jr.
  • 1960

  • Ralph L. Merklin Jr.
  • Allan E. Saari
  • 1961

  • Dennis A. Middleton
  • 1962

  • Martin E. Storm
  • 1964

  • Carl K. Dahl
  • 1969

  • Richard T. Reese Jr.
  • 1971

  • Paul D. O’Leary
  • 1972

  • Walter J. Stringham Jr.
  • 1973

  • E. Victoria (Hess) Parkerson
  • 1974

  • John M. Fiebelkorn
  • 1975

  • James T. Neher
  • 1976

  • James J. Sarzynski
  • Craig A. Suter
  • 1977

  • Dennis P. Regan
  • 1983

  • Phillip G. Hoffman
  • 1984

  • Donna L. (DeMattia) Cline
  • 1987

  • Matthew P. Macker
  • 1995

  • Nicola E. Kostka
  • 1996

  • Edward J. Bohley
  • 1997

  • Fr. Richard Lewnau