Research Focus

The department has experienced an unprecedented period of growth in research and graduate education. Since 2000, PhD enrollments have nearly quadrupled, and external funding for research has grown by a factor of roughly eight.

Signals and Systems

Signals and systems research is concerned with the transmission, measurement, processing, analysis, and interpretation of information bearing signals. Areas include signal processing, image processing, computer communications, and wireless and digital communications.

Faculty with this Focus

Daniel R. Fuhrmann

Department Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2550
fuhrmann@mtu.edu
EERC 118

Michael C. Roggemann

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2164
mroggema@mtu.edu
EERC 503

Seyed A. (Reza) Zekavat

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2071
rezaz@mtu.edu
EERC 825

Jeffrey B. Burl

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2919
burl@mtu.edu
EERC 710

Ashok K. Ambardar

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2532
akambard@mtu.edu
EERC 826

Timothy J. Schulz

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2754
schulz@mtu.edu
EERC 505

Computer Engineering

Computer engineering focuses on the conception, analysis, design, integration, and evaluation of embedded systems, computing networking, and high-assurance systems employing modern microprocessor and microcontroller devices. Other goals include improving the performance and reliability of existing devices, as well as designing new systems around them.

Faculty with this Focus

Roger M. Kieckhafer

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2866
rmkieckh@mtu.edu
EERC 713

Saeid Nooshabadi

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor, Computer Science

906-487-4336
saeid@mtu.edu
EERC 512, Rekhi 212

Bo Chen

Dave House Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering

906-487-3537
bochen@mtu.edu
MEEM 824

Zhuo Feng

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-3116
zhuofeng@mtu.edu
EERC 513

Timothy Havens

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

William and Gloria Jackson Assistant Professor

906-487-3115
thavens@mtu.edu
EERC 504

Shiyan Hu

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2941
shiyan@mtu.edu
EERC 518

Zhaohui Wang

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2054
zhaohuiw@mtu.edu
EERC 730

Electro Physics

Solid-state electronics research spans electromagnetic wave interactions with materials, micro- and nanoscale electronic materials and devices, and the quantum behavior of solids. This research thrust explores applications coupling electromagnetic behavior, photonics, electronics, VLSI design, quantum electronic physics, and sensing devices that interact with the external world in complex, integrated microsystems.

An application currently under study is the development of a new  transistor utilizing the spin of an electron (so-called "spintronics"), requiring much less power and heat dissipation, which would permit a much greater density of transistors for  microprocessors.  Another application is the quantum theory of solids to predict how electromagnetic fields interact with propellants and explosives, enhancing remote detection.

Faculty with this Focus

Warren F. Perger

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2855
wfp@mtu.edu
EERC 819

Paul L. Bergstrom

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

906-487-2058
paulb@mtu.edu
EERC 630

Elena Semouchkina

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Adjunct Professor, Physics

906-487-2869
esemouch@mtu.edu
EERC 711

Joshua M. Pearce

Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-1466
pearce@mtu.edu
M & M Building 601

Durdu Guney

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-2780
dguney@mtu.edu
EERC 729

Christopher T. Middlebrook

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-1622
ctmiddle@mtu.edu
EERC 628

Power and Energy

Power and Energy emphasize power systems, with renewable energy and power electronics as other major areas of interest. Examples include protection, operation, and control of power systems; theory and use of commercial packages for fault, power flow, and transient studies; and power-system components—including transformers, rotating machines, and circuit breakers.

Faculty with this Focus

Bruce A. Mork

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dennis Wiitanen Professor of Electric Power Systems

906-487-2857
bamork@mtu.edu
EERC 614

Wayne W. Weaver

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dave House Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering

906-487-1461
wwweaver@mtu.edu
EERC 236

Joshua M. Pearce

Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-1466
pearce@mtu.edu
M & M Building 601

Lucia Gauchia

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Richard and Elizabeth Henes Assistant Professor of Energy Storage Systems

906-487-3382
gauchia@mtu.edu
EERC 612

John T. Lukowski

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Faculty Advisor, Automotive Computing Enterprise

Co-Coordinator, Hybrid Electric Vehicle Enterprise

906-487-2545
jtlukows@mtu.edu
EERC 233

Chee-Wooi Ten

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

906-487-0397
ten@mtu.edu
EERC 613