MAGS Distinguished Thesis Award Procedure

The Executive Committee of the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) annually solicits for nominations for the MAGS Distinguished Master’s Thesis Awards to recognize and reward distinguished scholarship and research at the master’s level. Each member of MAGS may nominate one candidate for the award.

MAGS is not currently soliciting for applications. It is anticipated that nominations for the 2016 competition will be due in early October 2015. The details on this page refer to the 2015 competition and are subject to change.


Eligible students

  • will have earned a master of science degree between July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2014 in the field of Social Sciences or Physical Science/Engineering (including mathematics)
    • Michigan Tech may nominate one thesis in each category
    • The 2016 competition will seek nominees in the fields of Biological/Life Sciences and the Humanities
  • will have completed an original thesis that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline
  • will not have earned a PhD (or comparable research degree) in any discipline prior to the writing of the master’s thesis


Advisors may nominate eligible students by submitting to the Graduate School:

  1. A 300-word abstract of the nominated thesis that includes the significance of the research. Include the title of the work and name of the student, but not the University.
  2. A support letter from the advisor. Please address letter to:

    Ambika Mathur, PhD
    Graduate School
    Wayne State University
    Detroit, MI 48202

Note that the Graduate School has access to all theses electronically, so the thesis is not needed to nominate a student.

Nomination packets are due by 4pm, October 17, 2014 to the Graduate School via e-mail ( or campus mail (address to Debra Charlesworth). Eligible students with a complete nomination packet will be evaluated by a panel of faculty from the University.


Recipients of the MAGS Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award will receive:

  • A $750 honorarium.
  • Travel expenses to attend the Annual Meeting.  This year's meeting will be April 15-17, 2015 in St. Louis, Missouri.

The faculty mentor or thesis advisor will also be invited to attend the presentation ceremony.