Learning Centers Steering Committee

Reports to:

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs


To coordinate efforts among Learning Centers to increase their effectiveness and efficiency. To guide and support the continuing development of Learning Centers' staff, programs and facilities so they can better support Michigan Tech's educational goals. To keep Michigan Tech's faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends informed of the Learning Centers' past accomplishments and future goals, and to actively seek the support of these groups for the continuing development and improvement of Learning Centers.


Representatives from all of the learning centers.


  • Jeremy Brown (Chair), Chemistry Learning Center
  • Matthew Barron, Engineering Fundamentals
  • James Bittner, Engineering Fundamentals
  • Debra Charlesworth, Graduate School
  • Kit Cischke, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Joshua Chase, Humanities
  • Timothy Eisele, Chemical Engineering
  • AJ Hamlin, Engineering Fundamentals
  • Bonnie Henderson, College of Computing Learning Center
  • Stephen Kampe, Material Science and Engineering
  • Jenna Laird, Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences
  • Susan Liebau, Waino Wahtera Center for Student Success
  • Patrick McFall, Mathematical Sciences
  • Brigitte Morin, Biological Sciences
  • Amber Kemppainen, Engineering Fundamentals
  • Erin Matas, Van Pelt and Opie Library
  • Michael Meyer, William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Julie Ross, Civil, Environmental, and Geospatial Engineering
  • M. Bartley Seigel, Humanities
  • Jeremy Shannon, Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences
  • Darnishia Slade, Pavlis Honors College 
  • Leo Ureel, Computer Science
  • Robert Weidman, Physics

Last Updated: March 14, 2022