Committee on Academic Tenure, Promotion and Reappointment (CATPR)

Reports to:



Considers appeals of negative recommendations on:

a) tenure, promotion, or reappointment of tenure-track faculty, and negative recommendations on promotion of tenured faculty on the grounds provided in Board of Trustees Policy 6.4, and

b) promotion for instructional-track faculty on the grounds of failure of a recommending party or parties to follow the promotion process provided in Appendix L of the Faculty Handbook, and/or the Faculty Staffing Policy.

In case of any question in the interpretation of the Board's Tenure and Promotion Policy (Board Policy 6.4), or in the Tenure, Promotion, and Reappointment Procedures (Appendix I or L of the Faculty Handbook), or in the solution of any tenure problem arising from a situation not specifically covered in that policy or in these procedures, the matter shall be referred to this committee.

With regard to Dismissal for Cause, upon the written request of the faculty member concerned, or of the University President, the committee shall conduct a hearing of the case and make suitable recommendations as defined in Board of Trustees Policy 6.4, Academic Tenure and Promotion, in the case of tenure-track faculty or Appendix L of the Faculty Handbook in the case of instructional-track faculty.


Two tenured faculty appointed by the President; three tenured faculty elected by the tenured and tenure-track faculty.

Members and Term Expiration Dates:

  • Molly Cavaleri (President), College of Forest Resources & Environmental Science, 12/31/2024
  • Radwin Askari (Senate), Department of Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences, 12/31/2024
  • Bo Chen (President), Department of Mechanical Engineering - Engineering Mechanics, 12/31/2025
  • Shiyue Fang (Senate), Department of Chemistry, 12/31/2025
  • Jingfeng Jiang (Senate), Department of Biomedical Engineering, 12/31/2025

Last reviewed:
March 11, 2022 - annual review
July 1, 2022 - Molly Cavaleri replaced David Flaspohler on committee; president's representative
January 4, 2024 - Shiyue Fang replaced Senate rep; Jingfeng Jiang expiration date changed to 12/31/25
January 12, 2024 - Radwin Askari to serve calendar year 2024