Staff Listing

Jerry Anzalone

  • Lab Supervisor
  • Research Scientist I

Research Interests

  • Application of 3-D printing technologies for development of scientific tools and instrumentation and for humanitarian purposes.
  • Portland cement concrete materials characterization / construction materials characterization.

Dale Dewald

  • Materials Lab Assistant
Cell: 906-369-2872
dkdewald@mtu.edu
M & M Building 202

Research Interests

  • Materials Characterization
  • Experimental Design and Fabrication
  • Metal Casting

Paul Fraley

  • Engineer/Scientist, Materials Science and Engineering
906-281-7720
pdfraley@mtu.edu
M & M Building 522

Research Interests

  • Lightweight/High Strength Structural Materials
  • Metal Matrix Composites
  • Alloy Development
  • Net Shape Processing Methods
  • Powder Metallurgy
  • Failure Mechanisms in Materials
Celine E. Grace

Celine E. Grace

  • Office Assistant
906-487-2630
cegrace@mtu.edu
M&M 609
Allison Hein

Allison M. Hein

  • Research Engineer and Scientist I - IMP
906-487-1821
amhein@mtu.edu
M & M Building 509

Research Interests

  • Benificiation of coal, minerals, and solid waste.
  • Plating sludge leaching and pyro processing.
  • Environmental compliance and permits.
  • Technical and financial project planning and reporting.

Xiaodi (Scott) Huang

  • Project Manager and Research Leader - IMP
906-487-1822
xihuang@mtu.edu
M & M Building 510

Research Interests

  • Consolidation of metal and ceramic powders by CastCon processing.
  • Microwave steel making, agglomeration of ceramics, injection molding, and material characterization.

Edward A Laitila

  • Senior Research Engineer/Scientist II
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
906-369-2041
ealaitil@mtu.edu
M & M Building 628

Teaching Interests

  • Focus on X-ray diffraction techniques

Research Interests

  • X-ray diffraction theory and applications
  • Mechanical alloying
  • Intermetallic materials
  • Physical metallurgy
  • Nanoscale materials
  • Materials characterization
  • Powder metallurgy
No Photo

Joe Licavoli

  • Research Engineer/Scientist II

Owen P Mills

  • Senior Research Engineer and Scientist II
  • Director, Applied Chemical and Morphological Analysis Laboratory (ACMAL)

Research Interests

  • The use and application of Scanning Electron Microscopy, Transmission Electron Microscopy, Focused Ion Beam System, X-ray Microanalysis and Ultramicrotomy
  • Operation and management of multi-user instrumentation facilities.
No Photo

Valentina O'Kane

  • Department Coordinator
906-487-4326
vokane@mtu.edu
M & M Building 602

Matt Otte

  • Engineer/Scientist, Materials Science and Engineering
906-487-3650
mootte@mtu.edu
M & M Building 209

Daniel Seguin

  • Research Engineer, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
906-487-3375
djseguin@mtu.edu
M & M Building U101

Advising Contact

Teaching Interests

  • Senior design
  • Corrosion
  • Mechanical behavior of materials
  • Materials characterization

Research Interests

  • Corrosion
  • Environmental effects
  • Deformation processing
  • Light metals
Russell Stein

Russell Stein

  • Research Engineer
  • Faculty Co-Advisor, Advanced Metalworks Enterprise
906-281-8639
restein@mtu.edu
M & M Building 202
Thomas Wood

Thomas Wood

  • Engineer/Scientist
906-281-6258
tdwood@mtu.edu
M & M Building 207