Michigan Tech News

Goldwater Nominees Announced

Phone: 906-487-2354

By Marcia Goodrich


Last Modified 3:40 PM, July 20, 2009

March 5, 2007—

Michigan Tech has nominated Stephanie Irish and Brooke Smith for Goldwater Scholarships, the most competitive award in the U.S. for undergraduate students in science, technology, engineering and math.

It provides $7,500 towards tuition, room and board, fees and books. Applicants must write a number of short essays and one longer essay detailing a research project.

Irish, a junior in physics, proposed research on "Ozonolysis of High Molecular Weight Organic Compounds Applied to Ice Nucleation." She will execute her work in this aspect of atmospheric physics under the direction of Associate Professor Will Cantrell (Physics). Irish recently presented her research on ozonolysis at the national meeting of the American Geophysical Union. She is from Rochester, Minn.

Smith, a junior in biomedical engineering, proposed research on the "Development and Fabrication of a Silver-Silver Chloride Reference Electrode Using Thick-Film Technology." She will conduct her research under the direction of department chair Michael Neuman. She is a participant in the Research Scholars program and a member of the International Business Ventures Enterprise that is developing an infant heart monitor to be used in developing countries. She is from Freeland, Mich.

The Goldwater Scholarship committee this year was composed of Jason Carter, chair of exercise science, Assistant Provost Mary Durfee, Associate Professor John Gierke (GMES) and Associate Professor Linda Nagel (SFRES).

For more information on the Goldwater, contact Durfee at 906-487-2112.

Michigan Technological University (www.mtu.edu) is a leading public research university developing new technologies and preparing students to create the future for a prosperous and sustainable world. Michigan Tech offers more than 120 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in engineering; forest resources; computing; technology; business; economics; natural, physical and environmental sciences; arts; humanities; and social sciences.