Jeff Naber Receives SAE McFarland Award

By Jennifer Donovan | Published

SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers) has named Jeffrey D. Naber, associate professor of mechanical engineering, winner of the 2010 Forest R. McFarland Award. Naber is director of the Advanced Power Systems Research Center at Michigan Tech.

The McFarland award recognizes individuals for "outstanding contributions to the SAE Engineering Meetings Board and the development and dissemination of information through technical meetings, conferences and professional development programs, or for contributions in facilitating or enhancing the interchange of technical information."

Naber won the award for his contributions to the planning and development of technical meetings and conferences. He has co-organized and chaired sessions in new engine technologies for 15 years and is a former chair of SAE's Lubricants and Powertrain Systems Committee. He previously received the SAE Horning award for work in modeling diesel sprays and the SAE Teetor Award for Engineering Educators.

Michigan Technological University is a public research university, home to more than 7,000 students from 60 countries. Founded in 1885, the University offers more than 120 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in science and technology, engineering, forestry, business and economics, health professions, humanities, mathematics, and social sciences. Our campus in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula overlooks the Keweenaw Waterway and is just a few miles from Lake Superior.