Michigan Tech News

Sutherland Named SME Fellow

Phone: 906-487-2354

By Marcia Goodrich


Last Modified 3:42 PM, July 20, 2009

May 25, 2006—

The Society of Manufacturing Engineers has named Professor John Sutherland (MEEM) to its College of Fellows.

He is among eight new SME Fellows, who were chosen worldwide based on their outstanding contributions to manufacturing. These recipients are recognized by SME, their peers and the manufacturing community as key contributors to the social, technical and educational progress of manufacturing.

Sutherland, the Richard and Elizabeth Henes Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was recognized as a driving force for improving the environmental performance of manufacturing. He also pioneered the introduction of courses in environmentally responsible design and manufacture at Michigan Tech. He co-chairs the university's Sustainable Futures Institute, which is committed to education and research aimed at ensuring that human activities such as manufacturing do not lead to diminished quality of life due either to losses in future economic opportunities or to adverse impacts on social conditions, health and the environment.

Sutherland was a recipient of SME's Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and received Michigan Tech's Distinguished Teaching Award in 1992. In 1995, he received the National Science Foundation Career Development Award. He was chosen for a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 1996, for a 1999 SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award and the university's 2000 Research Award.

The Society of Manufacturing Engineers is the world's leading professional society supporting manufacturing education.

Michigan Technological University (www.mtu.edu) is a leading public research university developing new technologies and preparing students to create the future for a prosperous and sustainable world. Michigan Tech offers more than 120 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in engineering; forest resources; computing; technology; business; economics; natural, physical and environmental sciences; arts; humanities; and social sciences.