Board of Directors


Currently the Board of Directors is comprised of alumni and friends of Michigan Tech. They represent a range of backgrounds, professional experiences, and locations. Included in this number are three individuals appointed by the Board of Trustees.


Two primary functions make up the Board's charge

  • Oversee the receipt, investment, and administration of private contributions to Michigan Tech
  • Advise on the selection of an external auditor and oversee financial reporting, internal controls, and risk management


The business and affairs of the Michigan Tech Fund is managed by a board of nine Directors, consisting of two standing committee chairs, three individuals appointed by the Board of Trustees, the President of the University, the President of the Michigan Tech Fund, and two at-large members.

Standing Committees include: Investment and Finance and Audit.

Officers of the Board include: Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, President of MTF, Vice President of MTF, Secretary, Treasurer.

Meeting Dates

The following meeting dates and times (locations TBD) are presented for approval.

  •  Monday, December 11, 2017 (10 a.m. - Noon)
  •  Tuesday, February 13, 2018 (2 p.m. – 4 p.m.)
  •  Thursday, April 26, 2018 (10 a.m. – Noon)   
  •  Tuesday, August 7, 2018 (10 a.m. – Noon)
  • Wednesday, October 3, 2018 (10 a.m. – Noon)


view full listing


  • George Butvilas—Chair
  • Dale Elliot—Vice Chair
  • Richard Koubek, MTF President
  • Eric Halonen, Vice President of MTF
  • Julie Seppala, Treasurer
  • Roberta Dessellier—Secretary

Board of Directors

  • George Butvilas—Chair
  • Dale Elliott—Vice Chair
  • Paul Fernstrum
  • Dave Reed
  • David Rowe
  • Brenda Ryan
  • Steve Tomaszewski
  • Terry Woychowski

Richard Koubek—MTF President/Michigan Tech President
Eric Halonen—MTF Vice President
Roberta Dessellier— Secretary of Board of Directors


  • George Butvilias
  • Steve Tomaszewski
  • Dale Elliott, Chair
  • Richard Koubek
  • Terry Woychowski

Finance & Audit

  • David Rowe, Chair
  • Paul Fernstrum
  • Dave Reed
  • Brenda Ryan