The University Senate of Michigan Technological University Proposal 8-20

(Voting Units: Professional Staff)

"Restructuring of Professional Staff in the University Senate"

Professional Staff Policy Committee

Steve Knudstrup (S), Sean Brown (S), Joan Hoffman (S), Rachel Jones (S), Trish Bennett (S), Lorraine Young (S), Brent Burns (S)

Background:

Section II.B of the Bylaws of the University Senate defines the Senate's Professional Staff units as follows:

- 1. Academic Services A
- 2. Academic Services B
- 3. Academic Services C
- 4. Administration
- 5. Auxiliaries
- 6. Finance
- 7. Library
- 8. Research
- 9. Student Affairs and Advancement A
- 10. Student Affairs and Advancement B
- 11. Student Affairs and Advancement C
- 12. Technology
- 13. Senator-At-Large
- 14. Senator-At-Large

The Bylaws of the University Senate identify the various academic, research, and non-academic units that elect representatives to the Senate in Section II. Due to the split of the Office of Advancement with Student Affairs, as well as other organizational changes, the Senate needs to adjust its Bylaws to reflect this organizational reality and adjust the units and unit names to reflect the current structure of the university. It is suggested that the Senate's Professional Staff units should be restructured to reflect the merger following the same naming format as that used for professional staff in Academic units.

Proposal:

Given this consolidation, it is proposed that we eliminate the sub-units of Student Affairs and Advancement and redefine the Professional Staff Units as follows:

- 1. Academic Affairs A
- 2. Academic Affairs B
- 3. Academic Affairs C
- 4. Administration A
- 5. Administration B
- 6. Advancement and Alumni Engagement
- 7. Auxiliaries and Athletics
- 8. Information Technology
- 9. Research 1
- 10. Research 2
- 11. Student Affairs
- 12. University Relations and Enrollment
- 13. Senator-At-Large
- 14. Senator-At-Large
- 15. Senator-At-Large

As proposed, the Professional Staff units would consist of the following sub-units and would be listed on the Senate website:

Academic Affairs A: Biological Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Center for Teaching and Learning; Chemical Engineering; Chemistry; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics; Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs; Registrar's Office.

Academic Affairs B: Civil and Environmental Engineering; College of Engineering; Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences; Materials Science and Engineering; Michigan Tech Transportation Institute.

Academic Affairs C: Cognitive and Learning Sciences; College of Sciences and Arts; College of Computing; Computer Science; Graduate School; Humanities; Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology; Mathematical Sciences; Physics; School of Business and Economics; School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science; Social Sciences; Visual and Performing Arts.

Administration A: Associate Vice President for Administration; Budget and Planning; Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President for Administration; Financial Services and Operations; Human Resources; Institutional Research; Internal Audit; Vice President for Finance.

Administration B: Continuous Improvement; Environmental Health & Safety; Facilities Management; Merchandising Operations; Public Safety & Police Services; Transportation Services.

Advancement and Alumni Engagement: Alumni Engagement; Annual Giving; Advancement; Advancement Research; Donor Relations; Foundation Relations; Gift Planning; Industry Engagement.

Auxiliaries and Athletics: A.E. Seaman Mineral Museum; Athletics; Business Support Center; General Recreation; Memorial Union; Mont Ripley; Portage Lake Golf Course; Residential Dining; Rozsa Center.

Information Technology: Information Technology.

Research 1: Innovation and Industry Engagement; Keweenaw Research Center; Michigan Tech Research Institute; Sponsored Programs Office; Vice President for Research.

Research 2: Innovation and Industry Engagement; Keweenaw Research Center; Michigan Tech Research Institute; Sponsored Programs Office; Vice President for Research.

Student Affairs: Academic and Community Conduct; Career Services; Center for Diversity and Inclusion; Counseling Services; Dean of Students Office; Institutional Equity and Inclusion; Residence Education and Housing Services; Student Leadership and Involvement; Student Affairs Information Services; Waino Wahtera Center for Student Success.

University Relations and Enrollment: Admissions; Center for Pre-College Outreach; Financial Aid Administration; International Programs and Services; University Marketing and Communications; University Relations & Enrollment.