# The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

## PROPOSAL 3-08 revised

(Voting Units: Full Senate)

#### REVISION OF SENATE BYLAWS TO REFLECT CHANGES IN CONSTITUENCY UNITS

The Senate adopts the following revision to the Senate Bylaws:

Change the name of Education to Cognitive and Learning Sciences.

Change the name of Fine Arts to Visual and Performing Arts.

Change the numbers of the Academic Departments by alphabetizing the Department names.

Change the composition of the Non-Academic constituency units.

The amended list shall be as follows:

## II. REPRESENTATION UNITS

# A. Academic Departments

- 1. Army/Air Force ROTC
- 2. Biological Sciences
- 3. Biomedical Engineering
- 4. Chemical Engineering
- 5. Chemistry
- 6. Civil and Environmental Engineering
- 7. Cognitive and Learning Sciences
- 8. Computer Science
- 9. Electrical and Computer Engineering
- 10. Engineering Fundamentals
- 11. Exercise Science, Health, and Physical Education
- 12. Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences
- 13. Humanities
- 14. Library
- 15. Materials Science and Engineering
- 16. Mathematical Sciences
- 17. Mechanical Engineering Engineering Mechanics
- 18. Physics
- 19. School of Business and Economics
- 20. School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science
- 21. School of Technology
- 22. Social Sciences
- 23. Visual and Performing Arts

## **B. Non Academic Units**

- 1. Academic Services A (Biology; Chemical Engineering; Chemistry; EE; ME-EM; Museum; School of Technology)
- 2. Academic Services B (Civil/Environmental; College of Engineering; Geology/Mining; IMP; LTAP; Materials Science)
- 3. Academic Services C (All other non-represented Academic Departments)

- 4. Auxiliaries (Campus Store; Cultural Enrichment; Golf; MUB; Residential Dining; Rozsa; SDC; Ski Hill; Summer Athletics; Ticket Office; Univ. Images)
- 5. Admissions; Career Center; Financial Aid; Records & Registration;
- 6. Accounting Services; Affirm. Prog.; BOC; HR; Instit. Analysis; Internal Audit; OSHA; Provost/VP for Academic Affairs; Purchasing; VP of Administration
- 7. Advancement; Alumni; Corps Svcs; Mail Svcs; Printing; Univ. Communications
- 8. Admin. Infor. Srvc.; Building Custodial & Maintenance; Energy Mgmt; ETS; Facilities Operations & Planning; Grounds; IT; Public Safety
- 9. Library
- 10. Exercise Science, Health and Physical Education
  - 11. Acctng Svcs Research; Grad School; KRC; Mich Tech Research Institute; Research & Sponsored Programs; VP for Research
- 12. Counseling; Educational Opportunity; International Programs; Residential Facilities; Student Affairs; Technology & Economic Development

## C. Other Units having Official Non-Voting Liaison Senate Membership

Emeritus/Emerita Association Graduate Faculty Council Graduate Student Council Staff Council Undergraduate Student Government

# **Proposal Background**

The Bylaws of the University Senate identify the various academic, research, and non-academic units that elect representatives to the Senate in Section II. Representation Units.

The name of the Department of Fine Arts has been changed to Visual and Performing Arts To more accurately reflect the activities and mission of the department and has been approved by the Senate, and Administration in Proposal 8-07.

The name of the Department of Education has been changed to Cognitive and Learning Sciences to more accurately reflect the activities and mission of the department and has been approved by the Senate, Administration, and Board of Control in Proposal 18-07.

Due to the name changes in the Academic Departments the numbered list had to be rearranged alphabetically.

The composition of the Non-Academic Units has been slightly rearranged to better reflect common interests and proximity of each unit. Each unit list was also alphabetized.

Introduced in Senate: 17 October 2007

Adopted by Senate as revised: 14 November 2007