The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

PROPOSAL 1-03

REVISION OF SENATE BYLAWS

The Senate adopts the following revision to the Senate Bylaws.

Remove the Department of Mining and Materials Processing Engineering from Section II, A, no. 17 of the Senate Bylaws.

The amended list shall be as follows:

II. REPRESENTATION UNITS

A. Academic Departments

- 1. Army/Air Force ROTC
- 2. Biological Sciences
- 3. Chemical Engineering
- 4. Chemistry
- 5. Civil and Environmental Engineering
- 6. Computer Science
- 7. Education
- 8. Electrical and Computer Engineering
- 9. Fine Arts
- 10. Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences
- 11. Humanities
- 12. Library
- 13. Materials Science and Engineering
- 14. Mathematical Sciences
- 15. Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
- 16. Physical Education
- 17. Physics
- 18. School of Business and Economics
- 19. School of Forestry and Wood Products
- 20. School of Technology
- 21. Social Sciences

B. Other Research Units

1. Keweenaw Research Center

C. Non-academic Units

- 1. Academic Services Engineering
- 2. Academic Services Non-Engineering
- 3. Auxiliary Enterprises
- 4. Enrollment Management and Office of Student Records and Registration
- 5. Finance and Advancement
- 6. Human Resources and Facilities Management
- 7. Information Technology
- 8. Library
- 9. Physical Education

- 10. Research and Graduate School, University Relations, and Administrative Offices
- 11. Student Affairs and Educational Opportunity

D. Other Units having Official Non-voting Liaison Senate Membership

- 1. Emeritus/Emerita Association
- 2. Graduate Faculty Council
- 3. Graduate Student Council
- 4. Staff Council
- 5. Undergraduate Student Government

Proposal background

The Bylaws of the University Senate identify the various academic, research, and non-academic units that elect representatives to the Senate in Section II. Representation Units. The Board of Control voted to eliminate the Department of Mining and Materials Processing Engineering and merge its faculty and programs into the Department of Geological Engineering and Sciences and the Department of Chemical Engineering. Therefore, the Senate needs to adjust its Bylaws to reflect this organizational reality and remove the Department of Mining and Materials Processing Engineering from its list of representation units.

Adopted by Senate: September 11, 2002