## Superseded

# PROPOSAL 13-78

## APPOINTMENTS TO THE UNIVERSITY SABBATICAL LEAVE COMMITTEE

#### **BACKGROUND:**

Senate Policy 4-59, Sabbatical Leave Policy, was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 1968 and approved by the Board of Control on June 7, 1968. This policy provides that the Sabbatical Leave Committee shall consist of five members of the Academic Faculty appointed by the President of the University. The purpose of the committee is to screen, scrutinize, and make recommendations to the President on all applications for sabbatical leave.

### **PROPOSAL:**

Senate Policy 4-59, Sabbatical Leave Policy, is hereby amended to provide that members of the University Sabbatical Leave Committee shall serve for five year terms ending on July 1 and that each vacancy shall be filled with a member of the Academic Faculty eligible for sabbatical leave selected by the President of the University from a list of candidates submitted by the Senate. Each senator shall be permitted to nominate one eligible candidate. At a regular meeting of the Senate, each senator present shall be allowed to vote for three persons on a list of all persons nominated. The three persons receiving the largest number of votes shall be the candidates which the Senate submits to the President of the University.

Adopted by Senate: 25 January 1978 Approved by Administration: 31 January 1978 See Proposal 9-05