The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting #655

Video of meeting 655

March 3rd, 2021

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

Format:

• Meeting held remotely by Zoom conferencing with participation on Campus

Synopsis:

Next gen-ed presentation

2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors (0:00-5:02)

The Senate Secretary Carlos Amador called roll. Please see attached roll call sheet

1. Approval of Agenda

Motion seconded and approved

Motion seconded and approved

Motion to approve minutes

Minutes approved by unanimous consent

Agenda approved.

2. Presentation: Mary Raber and Dr. Marika Seigel: Presenting on the Education for the <u>Twenty-First Century Initiative</u> (5:26-30:19)

3. President's Report (30:20-36:26)

Discussion of the Senate's role in shared governance; campus community; the possibility of creating community-wide town halls.

4. Committee Reports [36:27-45:59]

a. Academic and Instructional Policy - Chair Jason Gregerson: will present during new business

b. Administrative Policy – Chair Mark Rudnicki: Presidential review policy, Senate review policy, also revising the review policies for Deans and Chairs.

c. Curricular Policy - Chair Josh Loar: Alexandria Guth (Provost's Office)

d. Finance and Institutional Planning— Chair Robert Hutchinson: will present during new business.

e. Fringe Benefits Committee - Chair Greg Waite: No report

f. Information Technology - Chair Jingfeng Jiang: No report

h. Professional Staff Policy - Chair Steve Knudstrup: No report

i. Research Policy - Chair Eric Seagren: No report

k. Elections Committee –Chair Anne Beffel: *Teams working on filling staff senator seats, also running the committee elections for university committees, discussion for positions that need filling.*

L. Committee for Equity, Inclusion, And Understanding –Chair Amy Howard: Presenting during new business.

K. Ad Hoc Committee reports:

Textbook Committee - Nora Allred: No report

Ad Hoc Senate COVID-19 committee—No report

Committee for On-Campus Events-Josh Loar: No report

Senate By-Laws Committee—Jason Gregersen: Report during new business.

8. Unfinished business (46:00-2:11:56)

Proposal 45-21—Proposal for Evaluation Procedures of Department Chairs

Motion tabled by ballot vote

Proposal 55-21—Proposed Addition of A Section on the Role of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Faculty Handbook

Motion tabled by ballot vote.

Proposal 56-21—Bylaws update

9. New Business (2:12:00-2:44:06)

Proposal 45-21—Proposal for Evaluation Procedures of Department Chairs

Proposal 55-21—Proposed Addition of A Section on the Role of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Faculty Handbook

Proposal 56-21—Bylaws update

Move to editorially amend. Passed.

10. Public Comments (2:44:07-3:13:00)

Discussion about proposal 41-21 from the community. Comments available on the senate video link.

11. Adjournment

Sam Sweitz moved to adjourn @ 8:49 pm

Meeting adjourned @ 8:49 pm

ROLL CALL

Meeting #655 2021

	SENATOR	ALTERNATE	<u>SUBSTITUTE</u>
Academic Departments Army/Air Force ROTC Biological Sciences Biomedical Engineering Chemical Engineering Chemistry	Justin Casey x_ Michael Gretz x Jingfeng Jiang x_ Michael Mullins x_ Lanrong Bi	Paul Weiss Guiliang Tang Orhan Soykan Kurt Rickard Pat Heiden	
Civil & Environmental Cognitive and Learning Sciences College of Computing Computer Science Electrical & Computer Engineering Engineering Fundamentals	x Eric Seagren x_ Kevin Trewartha x_ Paniz Hazaveh x_ Keith Vertanen x_ Chee-Wooi Ten x_ Amber Kemppainen	Stan Vitton Kedmon Hungwe Nathir Rawashdeh Robert Pastel VACANT Jon Sticklen	
Geological and Mining Eng & Sci	x Greg Waite	Radwin Askari	
Humanities Kinesiology & Integrative Phy Library Materials Sci & Eng Mathematical Sciences ME-EM MMET Physics	x_ Carlos Amador x_ William Cooke **Nora Allred xYu Wang x_ Jason Gregersen x_ Chang Kyoung Choi x_ Michelle Jarvie-Eggart x_ Petra Huentemeyer	Kette Thomas VACANT **Jenn Sams Yun Hang Hu Tamara Olson Nancy Barr David Labyak Jacek Borysow	
Pavlis Honors College College of Business College of Forestry Social Sciences Visual & Performing Arts	x_ Laura Fiss x_ Robert Hutchinson x_ Mark Rudnicki x_ Samuel Sweitz x_ Josh Loar	<mark>VACANT</mark> VACANT Paul Doskey Adam Wellstead Libby Meyer	
<u>Senators-At-Large</u> At-large F At-large F At-large F At-large S At-large S At-large S At-large S	x_ Anne Beffel x_ Carl Blair <mark>VACANT</mark> Stefka Hristova x_ Stefani Vargas Krause _x_ Amy Howard x_ Tom Cogswell		
 Professional Staff Units Academic Services A Academic Services B Academic Services C Administration A Administration B Advancement & Alumni Engage Auxiliaries & Athletics Information Technology Research 1 Research 2 Student Affairs University Relations and Enroll 	<pre>VACANT Vacant Vicole Seigneurie VACANT xJacob Guter Mike Olson VANANT X_Steve Knudstrup VACANT VACANT X_Danielle Meirow X_Paige Short</pre>	VACANT Vacant Vacant VACANT Brian Cadwell Lorraine Young VACANT David Chard VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT	

Official Non-Voting Liaison Members Graduate Faculty Council

___?

Graduate Student Government	x Nathan Ford
Staff Council	?
Undergraduate Student Government	Harley Merkaj

To transact business:	20 of 40
For academic matters:	14 of 27
For research matters:	14 of 27
For staff matters:	7 of 14
Other:	1/2 of eligible
	For academic matters: For research matters: For staff matters:

Visitors **Aaron Halonen** Angela Adrienne Minerick **Andrew Storer** David Halonen **Dennis Livesay Shaun Burris** dmlabyak Erik Kiilunen **Garrett Neese** Jaroslaw Drelich Joel Jean Kampe Theresa Coleman-Kaiser Lucas Simonson Leonard Bohmann Will Cantrell **Dennis Livesay** Holly Matt Frances Luo Sarah Steve Kampe . Dean Johnson John Pakkala Karina Madigan Theresa Jacques Zofia Freiberg Jackie Huntoon Joe Cooper