# The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

# Minutes of Meeting #654

# Video of Meeting 654

# February 17th, 2021

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

# Format:

• Meeting held remotely by Zoom conferencing with participation on Campus

# Synopsis:

Next gen-ed presentation

# 2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors (0:00-5:02)

The Senate Secretary Carlos Amador called roll. Please see attached roll call sheet

# 1. Approval of Agenda

Motion seconded and approved

Motion seconded and approved

# Motion to approve minutes

Minutes approved by unanimous consent

Agenda approved.

# 2. Presentation: Mary Raber and Dr. Marika Seigel: Presenting on the Education for the <u>Twenty-First Century Initiative</u> (5:26-30:19)

3. President's Report (30:20-36:26)

Discussion of the Senate's role in shared governance; campus community; the possibility of creating community-wide town halls.

### 4. Committee Reports [36:27-45:59]

a. Academic and Instructional Policy - Chair Jason Gregerson: will present during new business

b. Administrative Policy – Chair Mark Rudnicki: Presidential review policy, Senate review policy, also revising the review policies for Deans and Chairs.

c. Curricular Policy - Chair Josh Loar: Alexandria Guth (Provost's Office)

d. Finance and Institutional Planning— Chair Robert Hutchinson: will present during new business.

e. Fringe Benefits Committee - Chair Greg Waite: No report

f. Information Technology - Chair Jingfeng Jiang: No report

h. Professional Staff Policy - Chair Steve Knudstrup: No report

i. Research Policy - Chair Eric Seagren: No report

k. Elections Committee –Chair Anne Beffel: *Teams working on filling staff senator seats, also running the committee elections for university committees, discussion for positions that need filling.* 

L. Committee for Equity, Inclusion, And Understanding –Chair Amy Howard: Presenting during new business.

K. Ad Hoc Committee reports:

Textbook Committee - Nora Allred: No report

Ad Hoc Senate COVID-19 committee—No report

Committee for On-Campus Events-Josh Loar: No report

Senate By-Laws Committee—Jason Gregersen: Report during new business.

# 8. Unfinished business (46:00-2:11:56)

Graduate certificates 13-21 and 14-21 were passed by unanimous voice votes.

Proposal 23-21 passed by unanimous voice vote.

Proposal 38-21 passed by unanimous voice vote.

Proposal 39-21

Proposal 42-21 passed by electronic ballot.

Proposal 53-21— motion to remove Section "D" from text, passed by electronic ballot.

Proposal 53-21— tabled until March 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting. To come up under old business.

### 9. New Business (2:12:00-2:44:06)

Proposal 45-21—Proposal for Evaluation Procedures of Department Chairs

Proposal 55-21—Proposed Addition of A Section on the Role of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Faculty Handbook

Proposal 56-21—Bylaws update

#### 10. Public Comments (2:44:07-3:13:00)

Discussion about proposal 41-21 from the community. Comments available on the senate video link.

#### 11. Adjournment

Sam Sweitz moved to adjourn @ 8:49 pm

Meeting adjourned @ 8:49 pm

# **ROLL CALL**

#### Meeting #654 2020-2021

#### CONSTITUENCY SENATOR ALTERNATE SUBSTITUTE **Academic Departments** Army/Air Force ROTC Justin Casev Paul Weiss x\_\_\_\_Michael Gretz **Biological Sciences** Guiliang Tang \_\_\_x\_ Jingfeng Jiang Biomedical Engineering Orhan Soykan x\_Michael Mullins Chemical Engineering Kurt Rickard Chemistry x Lanrong Bi Pat Heiden **Civil & Environmental** x Eric Seagren Stan Vitton **Cognitive and Learning Sciences** x Kevin Trewartha Kedmon Hungwe \_\_x\_ Paniz Hazaveh College of Computing Nathir Rawashdeh \_\_\_\_x Keith Vertanen Computer Science Robert Pastel \_\_x\_ Chee-Wooi Ten **Electrical & Computer Engineering** VACANT Engineering Fundamentals \_\_\_\_ Amber Kemppainen\_\_x\_ Jon Sticklen Geological and Mining Eng & Sci \_\_\_x\_ Greg Waite Radwin Askari x Carlos Amador Humanities Kette Thomas Kinesiology & Integrative Phy x William Cooke VACANT \_\_\_x \*\*Nora Allred \*\*Jenn Sams Library \_x\_ Yu Wang Materials Sci & Eng Yun Hang Hu Mathematical Sciences x\_\_\_\_\_\_\_Jason Gregersen Tamara Olson ME-EM x Chang Kyoung Choi x Nancy Barr x Petra Huentemeyer Physics Jacek Borysow College of Business x Robert Hutchinson VACANT College of Forestry x Mark Rudnicki Paul Doskey Social Sciences \_x\_\_ Samuel Sweitz Adam Wellstead \_x\_ Josh Loar Visual & Performing Arts x Libby Meyer Senators-At-Large At-large F x Anne Beffel \_\_\_x\_Carl Blair At-large F \_\_\_\_VACANT At-large F x Stefka Hristova At-large F At-large S x Stefani Vargas Krause At-large S \_x\_ Amy Howard At-large S x Tom Cogswell **Professional Staff Units** 1. Academic Services A VACANT VACANT 2. Academic Services B Vacant Vacant 3. Academic Services C x Nicole Seigneurie Vacant 4. Administration A VACANT VACANT 5. Administration B x Jacob Guter Brian Cadwell 6. Advancement & Alumni Engage X Mike Olson Lorraine Young 7. Auxiliaries & Athletics VANANT VACANT 8. Information Technology x Steve Knudstrup David Chard 9. Research 1 VACANT VACANT 10. Research 2 VACANT VACANT 11. Student Affairs x Danielle Meirow **Trish Bennett** 12. University Relations and Enroll x Paige Short VACANT **Official Non-Voting Liaison Members** Graduate Faculty Council ? Graduate Student Government x Nathan Ford Staff Council Undergraduate Student Government x\_Harley Merkaj

Quorums:To transact business:20 of 40For academic matters:14 of 27

For research matters:	14 of 27
For staff matters:	7 of 14
Other:	1/2 of eligible

#### **Visitors**

Theresa Coleman-Kaiser John Lehman Will Cantrell Alexandria Guth Jackie Huntoon Jeremy Brown Audrey Mayer Alexa Thompson Adrienne Minerick Abbie Bethune Andrew Storer Angela Cooke Angie Carter Anna Browne Annelise Doll Sarah Green Brianna Bettin **Brian Cadwell** Beth Lunde-Stockero **Bryant Weathers** David Halonen David Holden Dean Johnson Erik Kiilunen Frances Luo Garrett Neese Shan Holly Gi West Janet Callahan Jarek Drelich Jclutey Joel Jean Kampe Jeremy Brown Jessie Tobias Joe Cooper Joel John Lehman Karen Wade Leonard Bohmann Luz Maria Aparicio Mark Rhodes Meghan Tidwell Nolla **Travis Wakeham Richelle Winkler Rochelle Spencer Rachael Parsons** Sara and Angela Sarah Green Shaun Burris Wayne Gersie William Roberts Zachary Olson