## The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

## **Minutes of Meeting 652**

#### **Recording of Meeting**

#### January 20, 2021

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

### Format:

• Meeting held remotely by Zoom conferencing with participation on Campus

### Synopsis:

. Josh Loar – Chair of the Ad-hoc Committee to Review Institutional Policy and Procedures for On-Campus Events presenting The Ad-hoc Committee's Presentation (*CW: threats of sexual assault, slurs, racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia*)

### 2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors

The Senate Secretary Carlos Amador called roll. Please see attached roll call sheet

#### 1. Approval of Agenda

Motion seconded and approved

Motion seconded and approved

#### Motion to approve minutes

Minutes approved by unanimous consent

Agenda approved.

#### 2. President's Report: (07:45-54:08)

#### Special report:

Speaker: Josh Loar – Chair of the Ad-hoc Committee to Review Institutional Policy and Procedures for On-Campus Events presenting The Ad-hoc Committee's Presentation

#### 4. Committee Reports [7:19]

a. Academic and Instructional Policy – Chair Jason Gregerson: *discussion of the slates of COVID-19 related academic proposals, Modification of the Teaching Effectiveness Proposal* 

b. Administrative Policy - Chair Mark Rudnicki: No report

c. Curricular Policy - Chair Josh Loar: No report

d. Finance and Institutional Planning— Chair Robert Hutchinson: will present during new business.

e. Fringe Benefits Committee - Chair Greg Waite: No report

f. Information Technology – Chair Jingfeng Jiang: *Committee creates survey pertinent to university COVID-19* 

h. Professional Staff Policy - Chair Steve Knudstrup: No report

i. Research Policy - Chair Eric Seagren: No report

k. Elections Committee – Chair Anne Beffel: *Development of committee elections and procedures to improve elections. Also a list of university-wide committee elections.* 

L. Committee for Equity, Inclusion, And Understanding –Chair Amy Howard: *General information about meetings, working on additions to go into the faculty handbook.* 

K. Ad Hoc Committee reports:

Textbook Committee - Jingfeng Jiang: No report

Ad Hoc Senate COVID-19 committee—No report

Senate By-Laws Committee

Committee for On-Campus Events—Josh Loar: still working with stakeholders and research on how events are booked.

## 8. Unfinished Business [1:01:12—1:04:36]

**Proposal 27-21:** "Revision to Policy 417.1 – 'Graduate Grievances' Presented by Administrative Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic)

Commentary: Mark Rudnicki (Senator), Will Cantrell, (Dean, Graduate School)

Proposal passed.

## 9. New Business [1:04:37-40]

No new business this week.

## 10. Public Comments [1:04:41—1:29:43]

## 11. Adjournment

Sam Sweitz moved to adjourn @ 6:49 pm

Meeting adjourned @ 6:49 pm

# **ROLL CALL**

## Meeting #652 2020

<u>CONSTITUENCY</u>	SENATOR	ALTERNATE	SUBSTITUTE
Academic Departments			
Army/Air Force ROTC Biological Sciences Biomedical Engineering Chemical Engineering Chemistry Civil & Environmental Cognitive and Learning Sciences College of Computing Computer Science Electrical & Computer Engineering Engineering Fundamentals	Justin Casey _x Michael Gretz Jingfeng Jiang x_ Michael Mullins Lanrong Bi x Eric Seagren x Kevin Trewartha x_ Paniz Hazaveh x Keith Vertanen x Keith Vertanen x Chee-Wooi Ten x Amber Kemppainen	<ul> <li>Paul Weiss</li> <li>Guiliang Tang</li> <li>Orhan Soykan</li> <li>Kurt Rickard</li> <li>Pat Heiden</li> <li>Stan Vitton</li> <li>Kedmon Hungwe</li> <li>Nathir Rawashdeh</li> <li>Robert Pastel</li> <li>VACANT</li> <li>Jon Sticklen</li> </ul>	
Geological and Mining Eng & Sci	x_ Greg Waite	Radwin Askari	
Humanities Kinesiology & Integrative Phy Library Materials Sci & Eng Mathematical Sciences ME-EM	Carlos Amador _x William Cooke **Nora Allred x_ Yu Wang _x Jason Gregersen Chang Kyoung Choi	Kette Thomas <mark>VACANT</mark> x_ **Jenn Sams Yun Hang Hu Tamara Olson x_ Nancy Barr	
Physics	x_Petra Huentemeyer	Jacek Borysow	-
College of Business College of Forestry Social Sciences Visual & Performing Arts <b>Senators-At-Large</b>	_x Robert Hutchinson x Mark Rudnicki _x Samuel Sweitz _x Josh Loar	<mark>VACANT</mark> Paul Doskey Adam Wellstead Libby Meyer	-
At-large F At-large F At-large F At-large F At-large S At-large S At-large S	x_ Anne Beffel x_Carl Blair VACANT x_ Stefka Hristova x_ Stefani Vargas Krause _x_ Amy Howard x_ Tom Cogswell		
Professional Staff Units1. Academic Services A2. Academic Services B3. Academic Services C4. Administration A5. Administration B6. Advancement & Alumni Engage7. Auxiliaries & Athletics8. Information Technology9. Research 110. Research 211. Student Affairs12. University Relations and EnrollOfficial Non-Voting Liaison MembersGraduate Eaculty Council	VACANT Vacant X_Nicole Seigneurie VACANT X_Jacob Guter XMike Olson VANANT X Steve Knudstrup VACANT VACANT XDanielle Meirow X Paige Short	VACANT Vacant Vacant VACANT Brian Cadwell Lorraine Young VACANT David Chard VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT	

Graduate Faculty Council Graduate Student Government Staff Council \_\_\_\_? \_\_x\_Nathan Ford \_\_\_\_?

Undergraduate	Student Government	_x_ Harley Merkaj
<u>Quorums:</u>	To transact business: For academic matters: For research matters: For staff matters: Other:	20 of 40 14 of 27 14 of 27 7 of 14 1/2 of eligible

Visitors

Will Cantrell Theresa Coleman-Kaiser John Lehman Jackie Huntoon Angela Gutiérrez Anna Browne Jasmine Ngene Luz María Aparicio Isaac Angela Gutiérrez Artemis Allison Christina Lehmann Don Savera Griffin Abbott Jailynn Johnson Jenna Byron Joan Hoffman Joan Schumaker Chadde Joe Cooper John Lehman Leonard Bohmann Lindsey Dolinski Liz Fujita Rochelle Spencer Sara Dancy Shaun Burris Sue Kerry TCK Wayne Gersie William Kordenbrock