The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 651

Video of Meeting 651

December 9th, 2020

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

Format:

• Meeting held remotely by Zoom conferencing with participation on Campus

Synopsis:

Approval of Athletic Council,

1. Call to Order

President Samuel Sweitz called the University Senate Meeting 651 to order at 5:30 PM on Wednesday December 9th, 2020 by Zoom remote video-conferencing. No use of Dow 135 classroom.

2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors

The Senate Secretary Carlos Amador called roll. Please see attached roll call sheet

1. Approval of Agenda

Motion seconded and approved

Motion seconded and approved

Motion to approve minutes

Minutes approved by unanimous consent

Agenda approved.

3. President's Report (6:30-7:19)

Athletic Council slate confirmed

7. Committee Reports [7:19]

a. Academic and Instructional Policy – Chair Jason Gregerson: *Discussion about future plans for the committee in 2021*.

- b. Administrative Policy Chair Mark Rudnicki: No report
- c. Curricular Policy Chair Josh Loar: No report
- d. Finance and Institutional Planning- Chair Robert Hutchinson: No report
- e. Fringe Benefits Committee Chair Greg Waite: No report
- f. Information Technology Chair Jingfeng Jiang: No report
- h. Professional Staff Policy Chair Steve Knudstrup: No report
- i. Research Policy Chair Eric Seagren: No report
- k. Elections Committee -- Chair Anne Beffel: No report

L. Committee for Equity, Inclusion, And Understanding –Chair Amy Howard: Open Forum, 41-21 to be discussed during the business portion of the meeting.

K. Ad Hoc Committee reports:

Textbook Committee - Nora Allred: No report

Ad Hoc Senate COVID-19 committee-No significant report

Committee for On-Campus Events—Josh Loar: still working with stakeholders and research on how events are booked.

8. Unfinished Business [33:41-1:15]

- 1. **Proposal 15-21:** "Establishment of a New Graduate Certificate in Sustainable Pavement Design and Construction" Presented by: Curricular Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic)
- 2. Proposal 21-21: "Establishment of a New Graduate Certificate in Natural Hazards and Disaster Risk Reduction" Presented by: Curricular Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic)
- 3. **Proposal 24-21:** "Proposal to rename the minor in Environmental Studies to a minor in Sustainability Science and Society" Presented by: Curricular Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic) *Proposals passed with no discussion*

4. **Proposal 37-21:** "Pass/ Low Pass/ Fail Option for Fall 2020" Presented by: Academic and Instructional Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic)

Motion seconded and passed.

5. Proposal 41-21: "Embodying University Values: Condemning Hate Speech, White Supremacy, and Ethnically and Racially Motivated Intolerance" Presented by: Amy Howard and Robert Hutchinson (Voting Units: All)

Motion seconded and passed

9. New Business [1:08:27—1:10:00]

Proposal 27-21: "Revision to Policy 417.1 – 'Graduate Grievances' Presented by Administrative Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic)

10. Public Comments

Discussion about proposal 41-21

11. Adjournment

Sam Sweitz moved to adjourn @ 6:49 pm

Meeting adjourned @ 6:49 pm

ROLL CALL

Meeting #651 2020

	Meeting #651	2020	
CONSTITUENCY	SENATOR	ALTERNATE	<u>SUBSTITUTE</u>
Academic Departments			
Army/Air Force ROTC Biological Sciences Biomedical Engineering Chemical Engineering Chemistry Civil & Environmental Cognitive and Learning Sciences College of Computing Computer Science Electrical & Computer Engineering Engineering Fundamentals Geological and Mining Eng & Sci Humanities Kinesiology & Integrative Phy Library Materials Sci & Eng Mathematical Sciences ME-EM Physics	Justin Casey Jingfeng Jiang X Michael Gretz Jingfeng Jiang X Michael Mullins Lanrong Bi X_Eric Seagren X Eric Seagren X Carlo Seagren X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Chee-Wooi Ten X_Greg Waite X_Greg Waite X_Greg Waite X_Carlos Amador X_Uilliam Cooke X_William Cooke X_William Cooke X_Yu Wang X_Jason Gregersen Chang Kyoung Choi X_Petra Huentemeyer	Paul Weiss Guiliang Tang Orhan Soykan Kurt Rickard Pat Heiden Stan Vitton Kedmon Hungwe Nathir Rawashdeh X Robert Pastel Jeff Burl Jon Sticklen Radwin Askari Kette Thomas Zhiying Shan **Jenn Sams Yun Hang Hu Tamara Olson Nancy Barr Jacek Borysow	
College of Business College of Forestry Social Sciences Visual & Performing Arts	x_Robert Hutchinson Mark Rudnicki _x_ Samuel Sweitz Josh Loar	<mark>VACANT</mark> Paul Doskey Adam Wellstead x Libby Meyer	_
Senators-At-Large At-large F At-large F At-large F At-large F At-large S At-large S At-large S	Anne Beffel x_ Carl Blair x_ Stefka Hristova Heather Knewtson x Stefani Vargas Krause x_ Amy Howard x Tom Cogswell	e	
 Professional Staff Units Academic Services A Academic Services B Academic Services C Administration A Administration B Advancement & Alumni Engage Auxiliaries & Athletics Information Technology Research 1 Research 2 Student Affairs University Relations and Enroll 	<pre> VACANT Vacant X_Nicole Seigneurie VACANT X_Jacob Guter Mike Olson VANANT X Steve Knudstrup VACANT VACANT X_Danielle Meirow X Paige Short</pre>	<pre>VACANT Vacant Vacant VACANT VACANT Brian Cadwell x_Lorraine Young VACANT David Chard VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT VACANT</pre>	
Official Non-Voting Liaison Members Graduate Faculty Council Graduate Student Government Staff Council Undergraduate Student Government	 Veronica Webster x_ Nathan Ford X_ Harley Merkaj 		

Quorums:	To transact business:	20 of 40
	For academic matters:	14 of 27
	For research matters:	14 of 27

For staff matters:	7 of 14
Other:	1/2 of eligible

Visitors

Theresa Coleman-Kaiser Wayne Gersie Will Cantrell Anna McClatchy Andrew Storer Colton Eberlin David Holden Debra Charlesworth Ethan Davani **Gavin Walters** Isaac Rodríguez Jackie Huntoon James Helm Joe Cooper John Lehman Laura Bulleit Liz Fujita Lucas Simonson Michael Bearden **Robert Davies** Shaun Burriss Siddhesh Sophie Miller Theresa Jacques Thomas Page Zachary Noel