The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 650

Video of Meeting 650

December 2nd, 2020

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

Format:

• Meeting held remotely by Zoom conferencing with participation on Campus

Synopsis:

Special meeting to present for a vote a Fall2020 COVID Pass/Fail Proposal.

1. Call to Order

Vice President Jacob Guter called the special meeting to order at 5:30 pm.

2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors

The Senate Secretary Carlos Amador called roll. Please see attached roll call sheet

1. Approval of Agenda

Amendment to the Agenda—Jason Gregerson adds one emergency proposal 36-21

Motion seconded and approved

3. Presentations

None

4. President's Report (24:31-27:02)

None

5. Committee Reports

None

6. New Business

1. Proposal 37-21: "Pass/ Low Pass/ Fail Option for Fall 2020" Presented by: Academicand Instructional Policy Committee (Voting Units: Academic)

Motion to vote as an emergency proposal seconded and passed

Proposal 37-21 passed.

2. Proposal 41-21: "Embodying University Values: Condemning Hate Speech, White Supremacy, and Ethnically and Racially Motivated Intolerance" Presented by: Amy Howard and Robert Hutchinson (Voting Units: All)

Proposal presented for consideration at Senate meeting #651

7. Adjournment

Jacob Guter moved to adjourn @ 6:33 pm

Meeting adjourned @ 6:33 pm

ROLL CALL

Meeting #650 2020

CONSTITUENCY	<u>SENATOR</u>	<u>ALTERNATE</u>	SUBSTITUTE
Academic Departments			
Army/Air Force ROTC Biological Sciences Biomedical Engineering Chemical Engineering Chemistry Civil & Environmental Cognitive and Learning Sciences College of Computing Computer Science Electrical & Computer Engineering Engineering Fundamentals Geological and Mining Eng & Sci Humanities Kinesiology & Integrative Phy Library Materials Sci & Eng Mathematical Sciences ME-EM	Justin Caseyx_ Michael Gretzx_ Jingfeng Jiangx Michael Mullinsx Lanrong Bix_ Eric Seagrenx Kevin Trewarthax Paniz Hazavehx_ Keith Vertanenx_ Chee-Wooi Tenx_ Amber Kemppainenx_ Greg Waite _x_ Carlos Amadorx_ William Cookex_ **Nora Allredx_ Yu Wangx_ Jason GregersenX_ Chang Kyoung Choi	Paul Weiss Guiliang Tang Orhan Soykan Kurt Rickard Pat Heiden Stan Vitton Kedmon Hungwe Nathir Rawashdeh Robert Pastel Jeff Burl Jon Sticklen Radwin Askari Kette Thomas Zhiying Shan **Jenn Sams Yun Hang Hu Tamara Olson x_ Nancy Barr	
Physics	x_ Petra Huentemeyer	Jacek Borysow	
College of Business College of Forestry Social Sciences Visual & Performing Arts	x_ Robert Hutchinson x_ Mark Rudnicki Samuel Sweitz x Josh Loar	VACANT Paul Doskey Adam Wellstead Libby Meyer	
Senators-At-Large At-large F At-large F At-large S At-large S At-large S At-large S	Anne Beffelx_ Carl Blairx Heather Knewtsonx Stefani Vargas Krausex_ Amy Howardx Tom Cogswell		
Professional Staff Units			
 Academic Services A Academic Services B Academic Services C Administration A Administration B Advancement & Alumni Engage Auxiliaries & Athletics Information Technology Research 1 Research 2 Student Affairs University Relations and Enroll 	VACANTVacantx_Nicole SeigneurieVACANTx_Jacob GuterMike OlsonVANANTX Steve KnudstrupVACANTVACANTx_Danielle Meirowx Paige Short	VACANT Vacant Vacant VACANT Brian Cadwell X Lorraine Young VACANT David Chard VACANT VACANT VACANT Trish Bennett VACANT	
Official Non-Voting Liaison Members Graduate Faculty Council Graduate Student Government Staff Council Undergraduate Student Government	Veronica Webster x_ Nathan Ford x_ Harley Merkaj		

Quorums: To transact business: 20 of 40 For academic matters: 14 of 27

For research matters: 14 of 27 7 of 14 For staff matters: 1/2 of eligible Other:

<u>Visitors</u> Andrew Storer Angela Gutiérrez Will Cantrell Mike Johnson Shellie Hubert Joe Cooper Liz Fujita Shaun Burriss Shellie Hubert Theresa Jacques Travis Wakeham Will Cantrell