The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 640

May 20, 2020

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

Synopsis:

- Meeting held remotely by Zoom conferencing.
- Presentations

CFO Susan Kerry on university budget.

Provost Jackie Huntoon on Pandemic Planning.

• Unfinished Business:

None

• New Business:

Pending 2/3 vote: Proposal 62-20: "EMERGENCY PROPOSAL: Proposed Computing Device Requirement for Students in Michigan Tech Programs" Presented by:

Information Technology Committee (Voting Units: Academic)

1. Call to Order

President Michael Mullins called the University Senate Meeting 640 to order at 5:30 PM on Wednesday May 20, 2020 by Zoom remote video-conferencing.

2. Roll Call of Senators and Recognition of Visitors [0:20-3:42]

The Senate Secretary Brian Barkdoll called roll. Absent were senators, Rajachar, Hazaveh, Vertanen, Tewari, O'Kane, Jones, Archer, and Griffis, with no representatives from Academic Services A, Auxiliaries, and Student Affairs and Advancement and no liaison s from GSG or Staff Council.

Visitors were: Kett Thomas (Humanities), Nathan Ford (GSG), Yun Hang Hu (Material Sci.), Josh Olson (IT), Joe Cooper (Financial Aid), Janet Callahan (College of Engineering), John Lehman, (University Relations and Enrollment), Ying Sha (Mathematical Sciences), Allison Mills (Marketing and Communications), Leonard Bohmann (College of Engineering), Steve Sore (Facilities Management), Liz Fujita (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Erin Smith (Humanities), David Hemmer (College of Sciences and Arts). Karen Blodgett (USG), Analise Doll

(Library), Theresa Coleman-Kaiser (Office of the President), Travis Wakeham (Biology), Patty Sotorin (Humanities), Josh Short, Jeremy Brown (Chemistry), Adrienne Minerick (College of Computing), Chris Miller (Forestry).

3. Approval of Agenda [3:42-6:10]

Proposal 62-20 was added to the agenda by voice vote with no dissention or abstention.

The revised agenda was **passed** on a voice vote with no dissention or abstention.

4. Approval of Minutes from Meetings 639 [6:10-7:03]

Minutes for Meeting 639 were **passed** on a voice vote with no dissention or abstention.

5. Presentations [7:03-28:23]

CFO Susan Kerry gave an overview of the budget approved by the Board of Trustees Questions ensued.

6. President's Report [28:23-34:00]

Huntoon gave comments on pandemic planning and asked for Senate representatives for both faculty and staff. Mullins mentioned deciding this at the next Senate Executive Meeting.

7. Committee Reports [34:00-38:30]

a. Academic and Instructional Policy – Chair Carlos Amador: upcoming proposal in the works regarding absences.

- b. Administrative Policy Chair Mark Rudnicki: working on updating Dean evaluation procedures in the fall.
- c. Curricular Policy Chairs Josh Loar and Amber Kemppainen: none.
- d. Elections Chair Robert Hutchinson: none.
- e. Finance and Institutional Planning Chair Chris Middlebrook: none.
- f. Fringe Benefits Chair Sam Sweitz: none.
- g. Information Technology Chair Jingfeng Jiang: none.
- h. Professional Staff Policy Chair Steve Knudstrup: will continue MLK issues and calendar.
- i. Research Policy Chair Charles Kerfoot: Springer has communicated regarding free books.

8. Unfinished Business [38:30-38:30]

None.

- **9. New Business** [38:30:20-1:33:00]
- a. Pending 2/3 vote: Proposal 62-20: "EMERGENCY PROPOSAL: Proposed Computing Device Requirement for Students in Michigan Tech Programs" Presented by: Information Technology Committee (Voting Units: Academic)

Jiang introduced. Discussion ensued.

The proposal did not pass the 2/3 required majority by electronic poll by a vote of 50% to 50%. It was sent back to the IT Committee for further work.

10. Public Comments [1:33:00-1:37:20]

Gregerson asked about previous proposal.

Beffel talked about the budget.

Knudstrup asked about the previous proposal.

11. Adjournment

President Mullins adjourned the meeting at 7:07 PM.

Respectfully submitted by

Brian Barkdoll

Secretary of the University Senate