The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 593

April 19, 2017

Senate minutes are time-indexed [in square brackets] to the relevant segments of the streaming video of the meeting.

Synopsis:

- Meeting dates passed.
- Thompson elected President, Cooper elected Vice President, Barkdoll elected Secretary.
- Other election results given below

1. Call to Order

President Marty Thompson called the University Senate Meeting 593 to order at 5:30 PM on Wednesday April 19, 2017.

2. Roll Call of New and Continuing Senators [4:55-9:10]

The Senate Secretary Brian Barkdoll called Absent were new Senators King, Wallace, Oppliger, Wood, Hristova, Chen, Sutter, Tewari, Hong, Jones, Diaz, Storer, Wakeham, and Matthew Thompson, with no representatives from Army/Air Force ROTC, Computer Science, Engineering Fundamentals, Geological and Mining Eng & Sci, Materials Sci & Eng, ME-EM, Business, Graduate Faculty Council, Graduate Student Government, and Undergraduate Student Government. Visitors were Theresa Coleman-Kaiser (Administration), Marshal (Computer Science), Josh Olson (IT), and Jackie Huntoon (Provosts Office).

3. Approval of Agenda [9:10-9:49]

Passed without dissent by voice vote.

4. Setting of meeting dates. [9:49-10:33]

Passed without dissent by voice vote.

5. Elections of Senate Officers [10:33-41:05]

Clancey ran elections.

For President Thompson and Kerfoot gave presentations. The vote taken by iClicker with the results of Thompson being elected. For Vice President Cooper and Will gave presentations with the vote resulting in Cooper being elected. For Secretary, Barkdoll ran unopposed and was elected by unanimous by voice vote. For Athletic Council, Luck, Mullins, and Vitton were elected. For Sabbatical Leave Committee, Sanders, Orr, and Mullins were elected.

Clancey announced the following results of previous elections as:

Gregersen for Faculty at Large Senator; Tewari, and Cischke for the Academic Integrity Committee; Ozenich for the Conflict of Interest Committee; Wallace for the Faculty Distinguished Service Committee; Pierce for the Faculty Review Committee; and Diaz for both the Misconduct and Research Scholarly and Creative Endeavors Inquiry Committee and the Staff senator at Large.

6. Adjournment

President Thompson adjourned the meeting at 6:08 PM.

Respectfully submitted by

Brian Barkdoll

Secretary of the University Senate