#### The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

#### Minutes of Meeting 519 18 April 2012

Synopsis:

- Setting of 2012-13 Meeting Dates
- Election of Senate Officers

## 1. Roll Call of continuing and newly elected Senators.

The roll of the continuing and newly elected Senators was called by Secretary Barkdoll. Absent were Senators from ROTC, Chemistry, Cognitive and Learning Sciences, Material Science and Engineering, Math, Physics, School of Technology, Administration. Also absent were Senators at large Thompson and Koszykowski and liaisons for Staff Council, and Graduate Faculty Council.

**Recognition of visitors.** Guests included Provost Max Seel and Assoc Provost Christa Walck (Provost Office), VP Les Cook (Student Affairs), Eli Korttuen (Undergraduate Student Government), and Director Ellen Marks (Library).

2. Approval of agenda. Luck asked if there were any changes; there being none Luck declared the agenda stood approved.

**3.** Setting of meeting dates: The dates below satisfy (Article IX-Meetings) of the University Senate Constitution which requires that at least one meeting date be established in each semester of the academic year in the spring term of the preceding academic year.

Proposed dates: September 12, 2012

January 23, 2013

Onder moved and the proposal was **approved**.

## 4. Certification of faculty, professional staff, and at-large membership

Various proposals needed passing to satisfy the Senate constitution regarding senator elections and terms. Caneba and Bulleit to continue as senate member was **approved**.

Luck also recommended that the staff choose and list their constituents in the future.

# 5. Election of Senate Officers for 2012-2013

Bulleit was elected for President over Barkdoll.

Hendrickson was elected for Vice President as the only candidate.

Barkdoll was elected for Secretary as the only candidate.

## 6. Adjournment.

Onder moved to adjourn. President Luck adjourned the meeting at 5:51pm.

Respectfully submitted by Brian Barkdoll Secretary of the University Senate