The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 491 14 April 2010

Synopsis:

The Senate

- Senate officer elections for the 2010-2011 academic year
- 1. Call to order and roll call. President Rudy Luck called the University Senate Meeting 491 to order at 5:30 pm on Wednesday, April 14, 2010. The Senate Secretary Marty Thompson called roll. Absent were Senators Marilyn Cooper and Cody Kangas, and representatives of Army/Air Force ROTC, Humanities, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, School of Business, School of Technology, Auxiliaries and Cultural Enrichment, Advancement, IT, Research, USG and the Graduate Student Council.
- 2. Recognition of visitors. Guests included Max Seel (Provost Office), Carl Anderson (Dean of Engineering), Jackie Huntoon (Graduate School), Ellen Horsch (Administration), Debra Charlesworth (Graduate School) and Benjamin Depew (Graduate Student Government).
- 3. Approval of agenda. Hamlin moved approval of the agenda; Mallett Malette seconded the motion; it passed unanimously on a voice vote.
- 4. University Senate meeting dates for the 2010-2011 academic year

Luck stated the University Senate business could be performed on the two proposed dates: September 15, 2010 and January 19, 2011. He then moved for approval of the dates; it **passed** unanimously on a voice vote.

5. Senate officer elections

Luck reminded the Senate that only continuing and newly appointed Senators are eligible to vote for officers for the 2010-2011 academic year. Luck turned over floor to Pierce. Senate Vice-President who asked Onder, chair of the Elections Committee, to describe the numbers of nominations for each open officer position. Onder stated that there will be one candidate each for the positions of president and vice-president and two candidates for the position of secretary. Pierce asked the Senate if there were any additional nominations for President. There being none, Hamlin moved to close nominations. Scarlett seconded the motion. Pierce moved for approval to close nominations for president; it passed unanimously on a voice vote. Storer moved that we vote and Onder seconded the voice vote for President. Luck was re-elected unanimously on a voice vote. Luck resumed the gavel and proceeded to the election of the Senate Vice-President. He asked Onder who the nominees were. Onder stated that Pierce was the sole candidate to be voted on. Luck sought additional nominations for Vice-President from the Senate. There being none. Hamlin moved to close nominations. Christianson seconded the motion, Luck moved for approval to close nominations for president; it passed unanimously on a voice vote. Luck moved for a vote; it passed unanimously on a voice vote. Pierce was re-elected unanimously as Senate Vice-President. Luck then deferred to Onder to list the nominees for Senate Secretary. Soner noted there were two candidates (Cooper and Thompson) for the position of Secretary of the University Senate. Luck asked current Secretary Thompson, to provide statement to the Senate. Thompson gave a rather concise description of his current status and expressed his interest in continuing as Senate Secretary. Luck then read a statement on behalf of Marilyn Cooper who could not be present. Luck sought additional nominations from the Senate. There being none, Hamlin moved to close nominations. Onder seconded the motion, Luck moved for approval to close nominations for secretary; it passed unanimously on a voice vote. Luck opened the voting by clicker. Results were 8 votes for Cooper and 19 votes for Thompson. Thompson then resumed his typing duties. Luck then welcomed the new people to the Senate and referred them to the Senate website which has become a nexus of information regarding the University Senate.

Luck welcomed all the new Senators and thanked them for their upcoming contributions to the University. He added that everything about the Senate is available on the Senate website. By examining this year's minutes, new Senators can gain some idea as to what it is we accomplish. Most important are the Senate Constitution and the By-laws. These provide the guiding principles which we must follow in order to achieve meaningful, orderly and constructive

progress for the university. Luck noted that Judi Smigowski has either distributed or emailed a sheet for new Senators to state committee choices. Essentially, prior Chairs of committees will be granted their first choice and from then on anything is fair game. He noted that President Mroz will be speaking at next week's Senate meeting and encouraged everyone to attend.

6. Adjournment. Hamlin moved to adjourn; Onder seconded the motion. President Luck adjourned the meeting at 5.46pm

Respectfully submitted by Marty Thompson Secretary of the University Senate