# The University Senate of Michigan Technological University

Minutes of Meeting 475 15 April 2009

### Synopsis:

The Senate

**1. Call to order and roll call.** President Sloan called the University Senate Meeting 475 to order at 5:30 pm on Wednesday, April 15, 2009, in room B45 EERC. Secretary Cooper called roll. Absent were Senators Johnson, Vable, and Koszykowski, and representatives of Army/Air Force ROTC, the Library, Mathematical Sciences, Physics, Academic Services B, Advancement, IT, and Research. Liaison Anna Pereira (GSC) was also in attendance. Mechanical Engineering–Engineering Mechanics, Academic Services A, and Auxiliaries and Cultural Enrichment currently have no elected representatives.

**2. Recognition of visitors.** Guests included Dave Reed (VP for Research), Max Seel (Interim Provost), Donna Michalek (Assistant Provost), Brad Baltensperger (Chair, Cognitive and Learning Sciences), Robert Keen (Chair, Curricular Policy Committee), Bruce Seely (Dean, College of Sciences and Arts), Troy Coogan (USG), Peg Gale (Dean, SFRES), Jason Keith (Chemical Engineering), Darrell Radson (School of Business and Economics), and Chris Brill (Cognitive and Learning Sciences).

## 3. Approval of agenda.

Christianson moved approval of the agenda; Storer seconded the motion; it passed unanimously on a voice vote.

#### 4. Setting of meeting dates.

The dates below satisfy Article IX-Meetings of the University Senate Constitution which requires that at least one meeting date be established in each semester of the academic year in the spring term of the preceding academic year.

Proposed dates: September 9, 2009 January 20, 2010

#### Hamlin Moved ; Larry seconded approved

#### 5. Election of Senate Officers for 2009–2010

Nominees for Senate President: Storer nominated Rudy Luck; Klooster seconded. Hamlin moved nominations be closed seconded passed. Luck elected by voice vote with no dissent.

Nominees for Vice president Cooper nominated Travis Hamlin seconded. Hamlin moved Dana seconded. Elected by acclamation

Nominees for Secretary: Travis nominated Cooper for Secretary, Hamlin seconded. Hamlin moved Onder seconded elected by acclamation.

#### 6. Adjournment.

President Sloan adjourned the meeting at 5:40 pm.