THE UNIVERSITY SENATE OF MICHIGAN TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY

Minutes of Meeting 406

28 April 2004

SYNOPSIS:

- 1. The Senate set September 1, 2004, and January 14, 2005, as mandatory meeting dates for the 2004-05 academic year.
- 2. The Senate elected Terry Monson as President, Becky Christianson as Vice President, and Janice Glime as Secretary for the 2004-05 academic year.

President Robert Keen called University Senate Meeting 406 to order at 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, 28 April 2004, in Room B45 EERC.

1. ROLL CALL OF SENATORS

Secretary Terry Monson called roll of new and continuing Senators. Absent were At-large Senator Beck and Senators from Army/Air Force ROTC, Computer Science, Materials Science and Engineering, ME-EM, Physics, Keweenaw Research Center, Academic Services - Engineering, Academic Services - Non-Engineering, Enrollment Management/OSRR, and Finance and Advancement. Liaisons in attendance were Merle Kindred (GSC) and Becky Christianson (Staff Council).

2. RECOGNITION OF VISITORS

Visitors included Peg Gale (School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science), Bruce Rafert (Graduate School), Martha Banks-Sikarskie (Sponsored Educational Programs), Patty Sotirin (Humanities), Daniel Makagon (Humanities), Kent Wray (Provost), and Marcia Goodrich (*Tech Topics*).

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

President Keen presented the agenda and asked for modifications or additions. There were no modifications or additions and no objections to the agenda. [Appendix A. NOTE: Only official senate and library archival copies of the minutes will contain a full complement of appendices.]

4. SETTING OF MEETING DATES

President Keen suggested that September 1, 2004, and January 14, 2005, be set as the mandatory meeting dates for the 2004-05 academic year. These dates were accepted with no objections.

5. ELECTION OF SENATE OFFICERS

President Keen presented nominations for Senate officers for the 2004-05 academic year.

Senators Terry Monson and Larry Sutter were nominated for the Senate presidency. There were no other nominations and no objections to closing nominations. Monson and Sutter made brief presentations on their candidacies. Monson was elected (17-9).

Senators Becky Christianson and Scott Pollins were nominated for the Senate vice presidency. There were no other nominations and no objections to closing nominations. Christianson was elected (17-8 with one abstention).

Janice Glime was nominated as Senate secretary. There were no other nominations, no objections to closing nominations, and no objections to her election by acclamation.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Senator Debra Bruch MOVED (Senator Martha Sloan support) to adjourn. The motion carried and Senate meeting 406 adjourned at 5:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Terry Monson Secretary of the University Senate