THE UNIVERSITY SENATE OF MICHIGAN TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY

Minutes of Meeting 387

30 April 2003

Synopsis: The Senate

- 1. elected Don Beck, Marilyn Cooper (3-year terms), and John Pilling (2-year term) as At large Senators.
- 2. set the required meeting dates for the next academic year: August 27, 2003, and January 14, 2004.
- 3. elected Bob Keen as President, Chris Williams as Vice President, and Craig Waddell as Secretary.

President Bob Keen called University Senate Meeting 387 to order at 6:46 p.m. on Wednesday, 30 April 2003, in Room B45 EERC.

Keen said that this was the special meeting of the senate that occurs each spring during which senate officers are elected and dates for the two constitutionally mandated senate meetings (one each semester) for the following academic year are established.

Keen said that prior to electing senate officers for the 2003-2004 academic year, the senate must first elect three at large senators, two for 3-year terms and one for a 2-year term. He asked if there were any objections to proceeding with this election. There were none. Keen said that Don Beck (Physics) and Marilyn Cooper (Humanities) have been nominated for at large senators. Keen opened the floor for additional nominations. There were none, and there were no objections to closing nominations. Beck and Cooper were appointed to the 3-year terms by acclamation.

1. ROLL CALL OF CONTINUING AND NEWLY- ELECTED SENATORS [Appendix A]

Secretary Craig Waddell called roll. Absent were At large Senator Cooper and representatives from Army/Air Force ROTC, Mathematical Sciences, and Student Affairs and Educational Opportunity. Liaisons in attendance were Karl Haapala (GSC), Phil Ribeiro (USG), and Becky Christianson (Staff Council).

2. RECOGNITION OF VISITORS

Visitors included Kent Wray (Provost), Ingrid Cheney (Human Resources), Bill Yarroch (Education), Dieter Adolphs (Humanities), John Pilling (Materials Science and Engineering), Mike Roggemann (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Ryan Olson (*Daily Mining Gazette*), and Marcia Goodrich (*Tech Topics*).

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

President Keen presented the agenda and asked for additions or modifications. There were no amendments or objections to the agenda as presented. **[Appendix B.** NOTE: Only official Senate and Library archival copies of the minutes will contain a full complement of appendices.]

4. SETTING OF MEETING DATES

President Keen proposed that the two required meeting dates for academic year 2003-2004 be set for 27 August 2003, and 14 January 2004. Keen asked if there were objections to the proposed dates. There were none.

5. ELECTION OF SENATE OFFICERS

Keen reported that he was the only nominee for Senate President. The floor was opened for additional nominees. There were none. There were no objections to electing Keen by acclamation.

Keen said there were two nominees for vice president: Becky Christianson and Chris Williams. The floor was opened for additional nominees. There were none. Williams was elected.

Keen reported that Waddell was the only nominee for secretary. Keen said that Waddell would be on sabbatical during the spring semester and that the senate would have to elect a new secretary at that time. The floor was opened for additional nominations. There were none. There were no objections to electing Waddell by acclamation.

Keen asked John Pilling if he would stand for the third at large senator position. Pilling said that he would. There were no other nominations. Pilling was elected by acclamation.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Senator Debra Bruch MOVED and Senator Jim Turnquist seconded the motion to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 6:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Craig Waddell Secretary of the University Senate