# The University Senate Of Michigan Technological University

# **Minutes of Meeting 351**

# 2 May 2001

Synopsis: The Senate

- (1) set the required meeting dates for the next academic year: September 5, 2001, and January 16, 2002.
- (2) elected Becky Christianson as Vice President and Craig Waddell as Secretary.
- (3) agreed to have the Senate constituency elect the Senate President after the tied vote on the Senate floor.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

President Keen called University Senate Meeting 351 to order at 5:33 p.m. on Wednesday, 2 May 2001, in Room B45 EERC.

# 2. ROLL CALL OF CONTINUING AND NEWLY-ELECTED SENATORS [Appendix A]

Secretary Pickens called roll. Absent were representatives from Education, ME-EM, Keweenaw Research Center, and Student Affairs and Educational Opportunity. Liaisons in attendance were Anup Bandivadekar (GSC), Jake Young (USG), and Becky Christianson (Staff Council).

#### 3. RECOGNITION OF VISITORS

Visitors included Kent Wray (Provost), Ellen Horsch (Human Resources), Max Seel (College of Sciences and Arts), Jason Keith (student), Marilyn Urion (Graduate School), Neil Hutzler (College of Engineering), Dave Nelson (Center for Biomedical Engineering), and Marcia Goodrich (*Tech Topics*).

#### 4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

President Keen presented the agenda and asked for amendments. There were no amendments or objections to the agenda as presented. [Appendix B. NOTE: Only official Senate and Library archival copies of the minutes will contain a full complement of appendices.]

#### 5. SETTING OF MEETING DATES

President Keen proposed the required two meeting dates for academic year 2001-2002: September 5, 2001, and January 16, 2002. There were no objections to the meeting dates as presented.

### 6. ELECTION OF SENATE OFFICERS

Vice President Ouillette presented a proposed slate of nominees for Senate President: Bruce Barna and Bob Keen. The floor was opened for additional nominees. There were none.

Lutzke MOVED and Davis seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion PASSED with no dissent.

Ouillette stated that the Senate Executive Committee agreed to allow each candidate 10 minutes for a brief statement and questions. Senator Pegg asked which Senators were allowed to vote. Keen stated that only next year's Senators are allowed to voted. These are the individuals who responded as representing their units during the roll call at the start of the meeting.

A secret ballot was conducted to select the President. The resulting vote was 17 for Keen and 17 for Barna. After extended discussion it was decided to conduct another secret ballot. The second ballot also

resulted in a tied vote of 17 to 17.

The Senate Constitution does not provide procedures for tied votes when electing officers. After extensive discussion it was suggested that we submit the question to a vote of the Senate constituency to elect the President. Seidel MOVED and Williams seconded a motion that the Election Committee conduct an election of the entire constituency to select the President of the Senate. The motion passed without dissent.

Keen presented a slate of nominees for Vice President: Becky Christianson and Jim Turnquist. The floor was opened for additional nominees. There were none.

Prince MOVED and Haapala seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion PASSED with no dissent.

Christianson was elected Vice President with 31 votes while Turnquist received 2 votes.

Keen reported that Craig Waddell was the only nominee for Secretary. The floor was opened for additional nominees. There were none.

Williams MOVED and Lutzke seconded the motion to close nominations. Keen asked for a motion to elect Waddell by acclamation. Prince MOVED and Davis seconded the motion to elect Waddell by acclamation. The motion passed without dissent.

## 7. ADJOURNMENT

Pollins MOVED and Long seconded the motion to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by James B. Pickens Secretary of the University Senate