THE SENATE OF MICHIGAN TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY

Minutes of Senate Meeting 256

Minutes of Meeting No. 256 8 May 1996

Synopsis: The Senate

(1) Elected Ted Bornhorst for President, Ted Soldan for Vice President, and Janice Glime for Secretary.

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

President Bornhorst called the Senate Meeting 256 to order at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 8 May 1996, in Room B37 of the Electrical Energy Resources Center.

Secretary Glime called roll of new and returning Senators. Absent were at-large senators Harold Evensen and William Shapton, and representatives from Business & Engineering Administration, Army/AF ROTC, Student Affairs/Educational Opportunity, and Academic Services/Engineering. Liaison in attendance was Geoff Roelant (USG).

2. RECOGNITION OF VISITORS

Guests included Fred Dobney (Provost), Debbie Lassila (Provost's Office), Dennis Walikainen (Tech Topics), Freydoon Arbabi (Civil & Environmental Engineering), Dave Ouillette (Enrollment Management), Linda Ott (Computer Science), and Ellen Horsch (Human Resources).

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Carstens MOVED and Sandberg seconded the motion to approve the agenda. The motion to approve PASSED on voice vote with no dissent. [Appendix A. NOTE: only official Senate and Library archival copies of the minutes will contain a full complement of appendices.]

4. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President Bornhorst announced that the nominees for President were Ted Bornhorst (Geol Eng & Sci) and John Williams (Chemistry). Ballots were arranged so that each candidate would appear first on half the ballots. Senator Beck nominated Martha Sloan for President and she consented. There were no further nominations. Mroz MOVED and Soldan seconded the motion to close nominations for President. The motion to close nominations PASSED on voice vote with no dissent. Bornhorst designated Ott (elections committee) and Walck (outgoing Vice President) to count ballots.

Bornhorst raised the question of how the Presidency would be decided if there were no majority, since the Constitution does not cover that case. Vice President pro tem Soldan suggested that the office go to the highest vote-getter. Bornhorst ruled that the presidency would go to the highest vote-getter and asked for objections. There were none.

While ballots were counted, Bornhorst opened nominations for Vice President. Nominees were Ted Soldan and Jim Lutzke; there were no nominations from the floor. Carstens MOVED and McKilligan seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion to close PASSED on voice vote with no dissent.

Walck announced the results of the election for presidency: Bornhorst 20, Williams 1, Sloan 12, declaring Bornhorst was ELECTED President.

Bornhorst opened nominations for Secretary; only Janice Glime had been nominated. There were no further nominations. Mroz MOVED and

Sandberg seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion to close nominations PASSED on voice vote with no dissent. Secretary Glime was asked to leave the room during the election. Glime was ELECTED by acclamation on voice vote with no dissent.

Bornhorst announced the results of election for Vice President: Soldan 24, Lutzke 10. Ted Soldan was elected Vice President.

5. SETTING OF MEETING DATES

The proposed meeting dates for the 1996-97 academic year were 11 September 1996, 4 December 1996, and 12 March 1997. There were no objections.

Soldan MOVED and Bradley seconded the motion to adjourn. The motion to adjourn PASSED by voice vote with no dissent. The meeting adjourned at $5:45~\rm p.m.$

Respectfully Submitted by Janice M. Glime Secretary of the Senate $\label{eq:main_second} % \begin{subfigure}[t]{0.9\textwidth} \put(0.5){\line(0.5){100}} \put(0.5){\line(0.5){1$